The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can we Stop Emails that state: You Have cPAddon Script Installs That Need Upgraded

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by hostmedic, Oct 31, 2006.

  1. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Good Day Everyone,

    I am looking for a way to stop having the system send out alerts stating

    "You Have cPAddon Script Installs That Need Upgraded"

    We have a custom cPAddon we have created - and these warnings are getting a little old.
    as we have different versions of the Typo3 Software for specific reasons...

    Please advise...
     
  2. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You would need to submit this as a feature request. Good luck!
     
  3. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I have it too on a custom package.
    I was looking for a file where that version info is stored.
    But not found it yet.

    And sending a feature request.. i think it did must already exist that before it went to public lol
    Bad to forget that option guys :)


    Danny
     
  4. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    thats the breaks

    I will ask for the feature -
    this is killing me -

    We have so many users who have our Typo3 autoinstall done
    and its just a nightmare
     
  5. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    While you're at it how about:
    1) on remove addon database also remove mysql user
    2) also remove mysql permissions for user on database
    3) security message still doesn't show, never has
    4) on updates, specifically where the user needs to force it, the backup is done before the user agrees and therefore the user cannot force update.
    5) where an update is forced, the user is not told which files failed to update (yes those files with changes do fail to update) and therefore believes they have updated the software when in fact only part of the software has updated.

    There is more but these come to mind immediately.
     
  6. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I hear ya...

    yeah -

    I hear ya.

    I do have to say I am very pleased w/ what the cPanel team has done thus far however...
    Although products like Fantastico are great - I love the fact we can add our own scripts to the cPanel system...

    Like anything - new is sometimes good - but enhancements, changes, etc always have to be part of the process.

    Funny - I once heard a preacher named Adam Hamilton talk about a Manure Management Program
    He said there are 4 ways to handle your "crap"


    1) Hide it in the shed Ignore it - Although with this type of issue eventually the neighbors will complain

    2) Burry the issue deep in the ground - good except when someone comes digging and falls into a big pile of - well you know... :)

    3) Mouth off about it and make it everyone elses problem- blame them for the issues...

    4) Aerate it - work it out - get a plan together to handle the issues - and finally learn from them --> thus allowing it to become fertalizer


    That being said - I think cPanel is far from being Manure (whereas most of its competition hits that mark right on... )

    but improvements are always good - and having an MMP for any business project is always wise.
     
    #6 hostmedic, Nov 10, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2006
  7. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    custom package ?

    Danny - you said you have a custom package as well -
    anything that you can share ?
     
  8. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  9. Silver_2000

    Silver_2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have clients with current versions of wordpress getting same emails

    Added comment to bug
     
  10. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    Can't this be done in cpanel for each user?

    under Scripts Library?
     
Loading...

Share This Page