Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you manually update PEAR?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by WebHostPro, Jul 9, 2017.

  1. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    I have a customer that says they need a newer version of PEAR. Can I update it manually without messing up Easy Apache?

    If so would it be done via yum?

    Thanks,
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    It is usually bundled with PHP packages. What version of Easyapache you have on your server? EA4 or EA3?
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    PEAR is bundled with PHP in EasyApache 4. EX:

    Code:
    # rpm -qa|grep pear
    ea-php56-pear-1.10.1-7.7.16.cpanel.noarch
    ea-php70-pear-1.10.1-7.7.19.cpanel.noarch
    ea-php55-pear-1.10.1-7.7.16.cpanel.noarch
    Is there anything in-particular about the existing versions that is leading to the request for a newer version?

    Thank you.
     
  4. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    He just said his script needed a newer version. I have the latest cPanel with EA4 updated a couple days ago to see if that would do it.

    So the version with EA4 is the latest that is available?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    PEAR 1.10.1 (with additional cPanel patches) is included with EasyApache 4 for each PHP version. EX:

    Code:
    # rpm -qa|grep pear
    ea-php70-pear-1.10.1-7.7.24.cpanel.noarch
    ea-php55-pear-1.10.1-7.7.20.cpanel.noarch
    ea-php56-pear-1.10.1-7.7.21.cpanel.noarch
    
    # rpm -q --changelog ea-php56-pear-1.10.1-7.7.21.cpanel.noarch
    * Thu Mar 23 2017 - 1.10.1-7
    - PIG-2903: Enable PECL extensions by default
    
    * Fri Dec 16 2016 - 1.10.1-6
    - EA-5493: Added vendor field
    
    * Tue Aug 02 2016 - 1.10.1-5
    - EA-4954: Add support for php71 (beta)
    
    * Mon Jun 20 2016  - 1.10.1-4
    - EA-4383: Update Release value to OBS-proof versioning
    
    * Wed Jun 15 2016 - 1.10.1-cp3
    - Set 'download_dir' to a SCL path instead of using /tmp
    
    * Tue May 31 2016 -  1.10.1-cp2
    - Create a symlink to the 'pear' script at /usr/local/bin/pear
    
    * Mon May 16 2016 - 1.10.1-cp1
    - Initial implementation of PEAR/PECL for EA4 SCL-PHP package
    It seems more likely that it's a specific PEAR module the customer's script may require. Could you check and verify if that's the case?

    Thank you.
     
  6. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I will, thanks for helping!
     
Loading...

Share This Page