The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot access WHM after installation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bhesterberg, Jan 7, 2014.

  1. bhesterberg

    bhesterberg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So this is my first crack at CPanel and CentOS and I'm having issues.
    First off, I've loaded CentOS onto a VM in Windows Server 2012 Hyper-V.
    I got CentOS loaded and downloaded and installed CPanel per the instructions. When I go to http://192.168.5.72:2087 it tells me the web page can't be displayed. I checked the error_log and I posted the output of it on the attachment.
    Can anyone please help me get past this???
     

    Attached Files:

  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The screenshot includes information from the Apache error log. The cPanel error log is located at:

    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log

    However, it seems like this might be an issue with your firewall. Have you tried temporarily disabling your iptables firewall rules to rule that out as the cause of the problem?

    Thank you.
     
  3. bhesterberg

    bhesterberg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only thing I have in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log is one line....

    cpsrvd [9312] Shutting down due to SIGTERM

    I did shut off the firewall, and did it again to make sure

    service iptables save
    service iptables stop

    - - - Updated - - -

    and chkconfig iptables off
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you notice any errors when restarting cPanel via "service cpanel restart"? Check to see if cpsrvd is listening on the standard ports with a command such as:

    Code:
    netstat -lnp | grep :208
    Thank you.
     
  5. bhesterberg

    bhesterberg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    that command gave me nothing, but when I ran "netstat -lnp | more " it didn't show anything listening on port 2087, there was a mysql listening on port 3306 though. Unfortunately I was kicked out of the server by another user and couldn't paste the output for you. Logging back in "Terminal service has exceeded the max number of connections" so I'm heading in to work now to fix that, among other things...
    I wasn't able to do a "service cpanel restart" yet either but will post it in about an hour.
    Thank you for the help!!!!!!!
     
  6. bhesterberg

    bhesterberg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes, I got an error when doing the "service cpanel restart" command. It tells me "cpanel: unrecognized service"
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It seems like you are either accessing the VPS node itself instead of the individual VPS, or that you have not installed cPanel on the VPS itself. Could you check and verify if either of those is the case here?

    Thank you.
     
  8. bhesterberg

    bhesterberg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes I can, can you tell me how to do that please?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you accessing the cPanel server via SSH? If so, are you using the IP address of the individual cPanel server or the VPS node? Ensure you access the cPanel server directly. You can verify this by checking to see if cPanel is installed:

    Code:
    cat /usr/local/cpanel/version
    Thank you.
     
  10. bhesterberg

    bhesterberg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok so I have version 11.40.1.9 installed.
    And to answer your question, I access the server directly through Hyper-V manager, no SSH.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page