Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Cannot access WordPress admin after installing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mydigitaldesign, Oct 13, 2018.

  1. mydigitaldesign

    mydigitaldesign Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dublin
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi All,

    I have taken over an old website, dated and looking around 2007. I installed WordPress via Softaculous. However when trying to access via wp-admin, I get the following message:
    The requested URL /wp-admin was not found on this server.

    I tried doing it manually then through these instructions - Removed - (I uploaded and extracted WordPress zip in cPanel file manager as opposed to using Filezilla). When I follow these instructions, the website homepage should be WP set-up. However I am still seeing the old website homepage with no WP options.

    I think part of the problem may be needing to delete the old website completely. I have spent almost 3 days trying to figure this out and getting nowhere. I have set up new websites in the past without any problems, however, this is the first revamp of an old one and I am finding it difficult. Hoping somebody can help me out, please.

    Thanks in advance.
     
    #1 mydigitaldesign, Oct 13, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2018
  2. SS-Maddy

    SS-Maddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @mydigitaldesign

    Did you see your .htaccess ? You may have a security plugin which renames the wp-admin URL when called in from unrecognised IP or so. There are lots of security plugins which renames the wp-admin directory for security reasons. What you could do is to disable the plugins (look for folders with words like security in the plugins folder) in the wp-content folder, assuming that isn't renamed either.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    mydigitaldesign likes this.
  3. mydigitaldesign

    mydigitaldesign Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dublin
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello @SS-Maddy and thanks for replying.

    The site was not using Wordpress previously. This is a fresh install, with no additional plugins added at present. I have just attached the full contents of the plugins folder. With regard to the .htaccess, the below are the two .htaccess file contents:


    /public_html/.htaccess
    Code:
    # BEGIN WordPress
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteRule ^index\.php$ - [L]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
    RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
    </IfModule>
    
    # END WordPress
    # php -- BEGIN cPanel-generated handler, do not edit
    # Set the “ea-php56” package as the default “PHP” programming language.
    <IfModule mime_module>
    AddType application/x-httpd-ea-php56 .php .php5 .phtml
    </IfModule>
    # php -- END cPanel-generated handler, do not edit

    /public_html/wp-content/plugins/akismet/.htaccess
    Code:
    # Only allow direct access to specific Web-available files.
    
    # Apache 2.2
    <IfModule !mod_authz_core.c>
        Order Deny,Allow
        Deny from all
    </IfModule>
    
    # Apache 2.4
    <IfModule mod_authz_core.c>
        Require all denied
    </IfModule>
    
    # Akismet CSS and JS
    <FilesMatch "^(form\.js|akismet\.js|akismet\.css)$">
        <IfModule !mod_authz_core.c>
            Allow from all
        </IfModule>
        
        <IfModule mod_authz_core.c>
            Require all granted
        </IfModule>
    </FilesMatch>
    
    # Akismet images
    <FilesMatch "^logo-full-2x\.png$">
        <IfModule !mod_authz_core.c>
            Allow from all
        </IfModule>
        
        <IfModule mod_authz_core.c>
            Require all granted
        </IfModule>
    </FilesMatch>
     

    Attached Files:

  4. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try calling the login file directly in your browser

    domain.tld/wp-login.php


    NOTE - Softaculous will install Wordpress into a folder called /wp by default - so, unless you changed the installation root during the install, your call could be domain.tld/wp/wp-login.php or domain.tld/wp/wp-admin

    The fact that you are still seeing the original website when you call it in a browser does suggest that your Wordpress was installed into a sub folder, although your screenshot of the /public_html/wp-content suggests otherwise.

    If you installed Wordpress and them moved folders or files about - you will end up in a terrible mess and it would probably be best to just re-install it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    mydigitaldesign likes this.
  5. SS-Maddy

    SS-Maddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @mydigitaldesign This may be stupid and I am sure that you would have already taken care of this, but still is the website where you are accessing the /wp-admin is pointing to the same server. i.e based on your screenshot and unless you have a dedicated IP for the domain name, it should point to 78.137.xx.xx

    As @rpvw suggested, you may try accessing using /wp-login.php as well.

    If neither works, try to see whether the Error logs in cPanel (Apache error logs) say something about the error or in general.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #5 SS-Maddy, Oct 14, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2018
    mydigitaldesign likes this.
  6. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    And as well as the advice given by @SS-Maddy I would suggest you look at upgrading your PHP to 7.2

    Your .htaccess suggests this domain is set to use 5.6 - if you have the access to select a PHP version from your cPanel - choose 7.2 or ask your host for help.

    See Requirements | WordPress.org for more details.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    mydigitaldesign likes this.
  7. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,141
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @mydigitaldesign

    Were you able to get this resolved with the help of the suggestions provided here? If you're able to let us know we'd appreciate it!


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice