The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot Add FTP Accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by s.r., Aug 28, 2005.

  1. s.r.

    s.r. Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey All,
    Just wondering if this is a common problem.

    I add an account in WHM.
    It creates the account fine and all.
    It DOESNT create a default FTP user/pass (nothing is listed in the new accounts CPANEL>FTP settings)
    If I try to add one in CPANEL, it doesnt add, it says it does, but it isn't listed.
     
  2. s.r.

    s.r. Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Another note - I have run:
    /scripts/upcp --force

    And everything is up to date.

    If I allow the FTP account to create a sub dir, that sub dir DOES pop up!
    So it does try to create a FTP account.

    if i do a

    # cat /etc/passwd

    there is no new user for the FTP.

    but there should at least be a DEFAULT FTP user.
    What is going on!
    :S
     
  3. s.r.

    s.r. Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Another note.
    I have also run the "Sync FTP passwords" - that didn't do anything.

    I remembr CPANEL having a few default FTP accounts, 3 or 4 by default.
    but at the moment I have none!
    :(

    I have tried setting a MAX FTP account setting, eg, to 10.
    And adding, it still doesnt add any FTP accounts.

    What is going on!
    I am lost here!
     
    #3 s.r., Aug 28, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2005
  4. s.r.

    s.r. Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am heading off to bed - but it would be AWESOME if someone could help me out!

    I couldnt actually find any threads where this problem is replicated. (here or elsewhere)

    So yeah.
    Thanks for whatever help you can offer!

    CHEERS GUYS!
    Gnite!
     
  5. s.r.

    s.r. Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Has anyone had any luck with this problem?
    Any thing to add?

    Thanks guys
     
  6. maidenseye

    maidenseye Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same problem. Someone please explain how to fix this thanks.
     
  7. s.r.

    s.r. Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ahh good to see im not the only one!
     
  8. s.r.

    s.r. Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    SOLUTION
    I worked it out.

    I think it has something to do with CPANEL auto selecting pure-ftp now, because of the exploit in the other FTP software.

    If you simply switch FTP programs.
    Then switch back.
    Then add a FTP account.
    You will see all FTP accounts listed!

    I read this somewhere, but it was filed as a different issue.

    Hope this helps some people!
     
  9. maidenseye

    maidenseye Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah it worked, however now my FTP server won't restart. Bah, oh well. I sent in a support ticket. I think when they fix the FTP server everyting will be fine. Anyway thanks for the fix.
     
  10. atcomp

    atcomp Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ftp issue

    Cool, thanks:)
     
  11. s.r.

    s.r. Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No worries, sorry it didn't help :(

    Im sure others will experience this at some stage though.
    So it should help some people.
     
Loading...

Share This Page