The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cannot change whm time zone

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rexrjacob, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. rexrjacob

    rexrjacob Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I am having a vps account with whm/cpanel installed on it. I am not able to change the time zone through Whm >> Server Configuration >> Server Time

    The current time zone is set as that of Africa. When I try to change to America/Costa_Rica time zone i get the message

    Local TimeZone has been set to America/Costa_Rica

    but the time is still showing the africa time zone.

    Any help would be highly appreciated,
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Whatever time zone you set, when you go back to that page, Africa will be shown by default. You can verify this looking at the timezone code when you go back to the page. For America/Costa_Rica it should read as CST.
     
  3. rexrjacob

    rexrjacob Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    The time is showing as

    Thu Oct 11 20:37:17 CST 2007

    Its not costa rica time... :(
     
    #3 rexrjacob, Oct 11, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2007
  4. rexrjacob

    rexrjacob Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I suppose in VPS account it will only show the server's time.
     
  5. rexrjacob

    rexrjacob Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,


    Yes, I tried that also...
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried synchronizing the time by clicking Sync Time with Time Server?
     
  7. rexrjacob

    rexrjacob Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, I tried that too... Still the time zone is as given below

    date
    Thu Oct 11 21:14:39 CST 2007


    The actual Costa Rica time is going to be 13:00
     
  8. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    If you are using OpenVZ, your host can modify the date for you. You simply can't do it either at the prompt or from the WHM. For more information on how to change the date/timezone for your VPS go to: http://servertune.com/kbase/entry/50
     
  9. rexrjacob

    rexrjacob Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    My panel is Hyper VM. Is Open VZ and Hyper VM same ? If not do you have the steps to do in a Hyper VM panel ?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To simplify things: HyperVM is used to manage OpenVZ or Xen VPSs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page