Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot Create Temporary Tables

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by denverdataman, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. denverdataman

    denverdataman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denver
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a database user that is created from within cPanel and it has all database permissions that can be granted from within cPanel. I am getting an error that temporary tables cannot be created.

    I have even tried using root in the web application (this is not something that is acceptable for the long-term). The root database user cannot create temporary tables from within the web application.

    I have found other posts about this but I do not see a solution to this specific problem.

    I would appreciate help with this problem.

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,182
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Steve,

    Can you confirm that this is in reference to a MySQL database? If so, the "CREATE TEMPORARY TABLES" privilege is in-fact included when selecting "ALL PRIVILEGES" upon adding a database user to a database via the "MySQL Databases" option in cPanel.

    Can you verify the database and database user were setup through the cPanel UI?

    Thank you.
     
  3. denverdataman

    denverdataman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denver
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry, it took a bit to write back. This is a standard MySQL database and the user was created through the UI.

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,182
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. denverdataman

    denverdataman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denver
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had seen threads about issues with this but I just did some testing and it must be the application. I can create temporary tables from the command line just fine.

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
Loading...

Share This Page