Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo error

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by phillbooth, Dec 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. phillbooth

    phillbooth Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I have a new Cpanel VPS build on AmazonLinux instance, all recomeneded ports are open but I get the error message below, also when I visit http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/ea4-clatest-x86_64-mirrorlist in my web browser I still get a 404, pls help.
    Code:
    AMAZON Enterprise 2016.09 x86_64 xenhvm – server1  WHM 60.0 (build 26) [TRIAL]
    
    BLOCKED A fatal error was encountered when trying to call “/usr/bin/yum -q list bash” :  ( Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/ea4-clatest-x86_64-mirrorlist error was
    14: PYCURL ERROR 22 - "The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found"
    )
    BLOCKED A fatal error was encountered while getting information from the server's configured repositories:
    
    One of the configured repositories failed (Unknown),
    and yum doesn't have enough cached data to continue. At this point the only
    safe thing yum can do is fail. There are a few ways to work "fix" this:
    
         1. Contact the upstream for the repository and get them to fix the problem.
    
         2. Reconfigure the baseurl/etc. for the repository, to point to a working
            upstream. This is most often useful if you are using a newer
            distribution release than is supported by the repository (and the
            packages for the previous distribution release still work).
    
         3. Disable the repository, so yum won't use it by default. Yum will then
            just ignore the repository until you permanently enable it again or use
            --enablerepo for temporary usage:
    
                yum-config-manager --disable <repoid>
    
         4. Configure the failing repository to be skipped, if it is unavailable.
            Note that yum will try to contact the repo. when it runs most commands,
            so will have to try and fail each time (and thus. yum will be be much
            slower). If it is a very temporary problem though, this is often a nice
            compromise:
    
                yum-config-manager --save --setopt=<repoid>.skip_if_unavailable=true
    
    Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: EA4/latest/x86_64
    : Executed /usr/bin/yum -v repolist
    
    
    
    The issues above prevent you from migrating, please correct these issues and try again.
    
    easy4.png
     
    #1 phillbooth, Dec 9, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 9, 2016
  2. phillbooth

    phillbooth Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello I cannot seem to connect to yum from my server or view http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/ea4-clatest-x86_64-mirrorlist in my web browser, I have a brand new clean install

    Code:
    ------------------
    yum update
    Loaded plugins: priorities, update-motd, upgrade-helper
    Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/ea4-clatest-x86_64-mirrorlist error was
    14: PYCURL ERROR 22 - "The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found"
    
    
    One of the configured repositories failed (Unknown),
    and yum doesn't have enough cached data to continue. At this point the only
    safe thing yum can do is fail. There are a few ways to work "fix" this:
    
         1. Contact the upstream for the repository and get them to fix the problem.
    
         2. Reconfigure the baseurl/etc. for the repository, to point to a working
            upstream. This is most often useful if you are using a newer
            distribution release than is supported by the repository (and the
            packages for the previous distribution release still work).
    
         3. Disable the repository, so yum won't use it by default. Yum will then
            just ignore the repository until you permanently enable it again or use
            --enablerepo for temporary usage:
    
                yum-config-manager --disable <repoid>
    
         4. Configure the failing repository to be skipped, if it is unavailable.
            Note that yum will try to contact the repo. when it runs most commands,
            so will have to try and fail each time (and thus. yum will be be much
            slower). If it is a very temporary problem though, this is often a nice
            compromise:
    
                yum-config-manager --save --setopt=<repoid>.skip_if_unavailable=true
    
    Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: EA4/latest/x86_64
    
     
    #2 phillbooth, Dec 9, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 9, 2016
  3. dannygur

    dannygur Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Same here,
    New CPANEL installation - AWS (which does meter because the address returns 404 even with direct access).
     
  4. phillbooth

    phillbooth Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Should be worth mentioning that I could do yum before the Cpanel install on the instance
     
  5. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    This is happening because Amazon Linux doesn't see itself as a 'C6 or C7' type system, but as a 'latest'. This means that when it tries to get our mirrors, it pulls down 'clatest', instead of 'c6' or 'c7'. We are working to resolve this in EA-5732. I'll update this forum post when we have a solution in play.

    Thanks for your patience.
     
    Infopro likes this.
  6. phillbooth

    phillbooth Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Thanks for letting us know, is there a manual fix in SSH for this as I have an install I cant use at the moment
     
  7. phillbooth

    phillbooth Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    dannygur likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page