The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot Find Page Error - Please Help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by html75, May 27, 2003.

  1. html75

    html75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Everyone,

    I am running a P3- 1ghz machine with Cpanel6 on it and when i try to view pages on my server, I sporadically get cannot find page errors. This is really weird because if I just refresh, most of the time it will work just fine. This has gotten to where it really effects my clients and my own business. Please help or give me some tips.

    Thanks in advance!

    Matt :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. html75

    html75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No Help?

    No one can help me out here? At least give me a tip or something?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. SoftmegUK

    SoftmegUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Have you tried recompiling apache?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. html75

    html75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes

    If you mean by running that easyapache control panel scrpit, yes I have done that. Any other ideas?

    Please... Any help

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. SoftmegUK

    SoftmegUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Are the pages specific types like php or cgi? or are they all just normal html pages?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. html75

    html75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just random pages

    They are anything from html to perl to php. that is what's weird, is it will just rnadomly show the error, then if I refresh the page a coup,e of times, it goes through. It's really odd.

    Any help please?


    Thank you very much!
    Matt

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Hmm, one of my clients complained about that, but it's not happening to me or anyone else. Perhaps it's a client-side issue? Are all your customers experiencing this?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. html75

    html75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Unfortunately

    Yes, all of my clients are expeirencing this. I have tried it on about 5 or 6 different computers and have numberous complaints about it weekly. Any other ideas or help would GREATLY be appreciated.

    Thanks!
    Matt

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Are both of your nameservers functioning properly?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Delta_5_ill

    Delta_5_ill Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had the same issue. The problem was with the nameservers not being in sync. Use something like http://www.dnsreport.com to see if it a probem with your nameservers.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. html75

    html75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay...

    I appreciate the link, I went to the site you sent me to and this is the results I got:

    http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=uaserver.com

    There were some errors, but I do not quite follow, can someone let me know what it means and what I have to do to fix it?

    Thank you so much.

    Matt

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. html75

    html75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anything else?

    Any other suggestions anyone?

    Or am I just up sh*t creek without a paddle? :)

    Please anyone....

    Take care!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the domain uaserver.com has its nameservers correctly listed at the root servers however the nameservers themselves list different NS records pointing to different nameservers

    For any isp (or indeed anyone) using bind9 this can create problems since it will cache ns records listed by the domain nameserver and therefore for any additional requests it will those nameservers (in this case ns1/2.rackshack.net) however since those nameservers don't know anything about that domain it will point back to the domain's nameservers (in this case ns1/2.uaserver.com) thus creating a loop (this is the same sort of problem as not having a records for nameservers)

    To fix this problem you would need to make sure that ns1/2.uaserver.com correctly list themselves as the ns records for the uaserver.com domain not the ns1/2.rackshack.net as they currently do (you could do this via the edit dns zone in whm or by editing the /var/named/uaserver.com.db file directly then restarting named and of course increasing the serial number)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. html75

    html75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Will Pay You

    Hi Howard, I have no idea how to do that, I am a programmer and farthest from a system adminstrator. However, if you will help me, I'll give you my info to WHM and Cpanel and pay you a few bucks to jump in there and fix it. Let me know. I would really appreciate your help!!!

    Take care!
    Matt

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. digitalSite

    digitalSite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have experienced the same problem. I thought it had to do with ISP, but one reseller said clients cannot view pages sometimes.

    The way I have mine set up is my resellers each receive 2 IPs.
    Any suggestions or ideas?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Best place to start is by using the dnsreport site listed above. :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. digitalSite

    digitalSite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello:

    I did all that...everything is running fine.
    The only thing I am able to find is that when I went to www.alertra.com and typed in all the domains I am unable to view (but other people are able to view), I see that it fails in Los Angeles.

    So, I am stuck at this point and a reseller has 4 domains that sometimes work and other times they don't work. Any ideas?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. tbhost

    tbhost Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :confused:

    We are experiencing a lot of sites just dissapearing for no apparent reason. They will be visible to some ISP's and not to others. Some of these have been on the same server for up to a year.

    I'm going nutts, customers are calling and can't see their own sites, I can sometimes see them, and sometimes can't. Some come back, then dissapear again. Just get a DNS error.

    I have checked everything I can think of, but no luck so far.

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. digitalSite

    digitalSite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That is exactly what I am experiencing...

    On another forum, someone mentioned something about knowing that there is a problem with RoadTunner. Does anyone know what that is?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page