The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot log to whm / hsphere hack ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by odmtech, Aug 29, 2005.

  1. odmtech

    odmtech Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I cannot log into WHM anymore, I get to the point where apache requests the password , but not further (it looks like my root password does not go through). I can connect with SSH though...

    At the same time I see /hsphere/shared/apache/bin/httpd in my processes, which seems to point to a hack... I'm wondering if this is related...

    I don't see any trace of bots in the /tmp directory...

    I restarted /etc/init.d/cpanel but still cannot login to https://mybox:2087...

    Anyone can help ?
    Thanks
     
  2. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had the same today. Alle scripts were uptodate, so no old version of phpBB ectra.

    I have killed the processes with
    Code:
    kill -9 %PID%
    After that I have done
    Code:
    /scripts/upcp --force
    But now I have a very empty WHM. (look at the attachement)

    It are bots, because if you do
    Code:
    lsof | grep ESTABLISHED
    You see that the PID'S corresponding to the outgoing request are going to irc servers...

    My only problem now is that my WHM is very empty.... I can't upgrade with WHM ectra, and I...
    -----------------------
    A downgrade and a upgrade did the trick! (configurable in /etc/cpupdate.conf)
     

    Attached Files:

    • whm.JPG
      whm.JPG
      File size:
      113.3 KB
      Views:
      76
    #2 bazzi, Aug 29, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2005
  3. odmtech

    odmtech Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Downgrade cpanel ?

    Thanks for the feedback, its nice not to be alone...

    How do you setup the /etc/cpupdate.conf file to downgrade cpanel ? :confused:

    Alain
     
  4. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just change "CPANEL=yourcurrentbuild" to "CPANEL=onebuildlower". The run /scripts/upcp. Afterwards, change /etc/cpupdate.conf back and rerun upcp.
     
  5. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    today my server with the problem crashed.

    In my logs there was running a program:

    /hsphere/shared/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL

    So can anybody tell me how to stop this for good?

    I don't have any phpBB forums that are old/not updated...
    so what can it be?
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    have you installed cpanel on a fresh server ? or in case to solve the issue, u can sure opt for the methods mentioned above. downgrade and upgrade the cpanel.
     
  7. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes It was installed on a fresh server and I already did that, because I have written that post ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page