The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot open cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gseven, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. gseven

    gseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i was able to open CPANEL properly last night but i dont know what has happened. Whenever i open avsimrevolution.com/cpanel it shows -cannot display page - avsimrevolution.com:2082 not found and other such errors.
    Login box do not appears.

    I tried on almost all popular browsers.
    i tried cpanel/avsimrevolution.com but not working.

    Everyone else is able to open my cpanel.
    I have formatted my PC and reinstalled my Windows.
    i tried flushing DNS..didnt work.

    hope u could help me out
    thanks
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,469
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, avsimrevolution.com/cpanel responds for me here. Seems you may be blocked by the server. You might want to contact your host for assistance with this.
     
  3. gseven

    gseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    actually everyone except me is able to login.
    all my friends can
    just not me and i am the adminstrator of this website.
    i talked to them..they said they can only format ur account nothing else.

     
  4. gseven

    gseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    last night i was doing something with wordpress.
    i dont know what has happened..
    can u please help me if i give u id and password?
     
  5. gseven

    gseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    plzzz anyone help me :(
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,469
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm sorry, I should have been more clear above. The server that your cPanel account and wordpress site are on, has a firewall and that firewall appears to have you blocked. We can all access it because we're not blocked.

    If this is the case, the only person who can remove you from that firewall blocked list is the Server Administrator.

    As a separate issue, your domain avsimrevolution.com only responds with an 500 internal server error (wiki link).
    This could be several things. If you were working in your wordpress and turned on short URLs for instance, this might cause this. Renaming the .htaccess file in the root of the wordpress site might get the site back up.

    I would think if you could get to another computer at work or a friends house you could get back into your cPanel as that IP wouldn't be blocked.

    Meantime your host is the one to ask for help. He can see if you are blocked and unblock you, and, can tell you why the site itself is giving 500 Internal Server Error message.
     
  7. gseven

    gseven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes 500 internal error is ok..
    i will fix it and that happend because of some file problem..i will fix that.

    should i ask my isp to change my ip?
    if ip will be changed I will be able to open cpanel.

    actaully under wordpress settings
    both the urls i changed to avsimrevolution.com
    from that point of time it has stopped working.

    thanks for your reply
     
  8. cmanns

    cmanns Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should look for a host that doesn't ban ya!:D
     
    #8 cmanns, Jul 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010
  9. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    Changing your IP or using a proxy should help, but you'll just get blocked again if it was due to invalid logins (or whatever caused the block).

    As for finding a host that won't block someone, it's a security measure to have brute force detection systems (cPHulkd, LFD or BFD) on a system. I rather know the machine is more secure over worrying about getting blocked. An unblock is easy to perform and then simply ask to be whitelisted on the machine going forward so that a future block doesn't happen again. If your IP changes, ask for the new IP to be whitelisted when it does.

    Hackers (or more likely infected machines) are constantly trying to brute force machines. If you ever look at the logs for brute force detection, you'll see the massive number of hits many machines get where someone is trying to guess the password for root and other accounts on it. I'd call brute force detection systems that automatically block such attempts a necessity for security purposes.
     
Loading...

Share This Page