The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cannot overwrite remote file " /usr/local/lib/php.ini?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ehuey, Mar 14, 2008.

1. ehuey

ehuey Registered

When trying to overwrite the php.ini I get this error. Can someone explain to me a few things i have questions to? I'm new at this dedicated server firguring out more as I go.

1. My WHM, I see where to edit the main php.ini file under section Service Configuration:PHP Configuration Editor:

2. When i give a domain name root access. Question: does the php.ini file copy itself to all domain names with shell accsess? If that's the case, why when trying to edit php.ini for that domain with shell and root access I can't overwrite the phph.ini file.
    Ok maybe the question is" does all shell access domains have it's own php.ini? or if you do edit the php.ini does it effect the WHM php.ini?

3 i running into this problem when trying to install shopping carts and other video software on to the server. it ask me to edit some setting in the php.ini diffrent then main default setting in php.ini in Web Host Manger.

4. just trying to understand what i need to do to modify and replace php.ini.
    I'm using WinSCP to shell to the path to find the php.ini I can do that but when I finish changing file I can't send it back or replace it.

5. i added wheel groups to the domainname that is trying to overwrite the file no luck.

6. I'm new to this, so be easy on me thx! Huey:eek:

2. jayh38

jayh38 Well-Known Member

You need to use winscp as ROOT, not as a user in the wheel group. Winscp will not SU as root so log in with your root access and you will be fine.

Be carefull about adding others to wheel. No one but the system admins should have root or ssh access.

good luck

3. ehuey

ehuey Registered