The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot remove an addon domain name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hardjoko, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. hardjoko

    hardjoko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I never set up an addon domain. I only set up subdomain.

    When I want to delete a subdomain on my test website I got the following message:

    SubDomain Removal
    Sorry, the subdomain subdomain cannot be removed because it is linked to the addon domain subdomain.domain.com . You must first remove the addon domain.


    Allright, so I delete the addon domain

    Syncing Ftp Databases....Done Sorry, you do not control the domain subdomainname
    Sorry, the subdomain subdomainname cannot be removed because it is linked to the addon domain subdomainname.domain.com . You must first remove the addon domain.


    First I am in control of the domain. So it's wrong to say I do not control the domain.
    Second it says that I have to remove the addon domain. But that's what I am trying to do.
    Third, how in the earth I got add on domains anyway that I never add?
     
  2. Rosa

    Rosa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Check the user file at /var/cpanel/users. The root of all problems may be in there.
     
  3. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes, check the file /var/cpanel/users/<username> and make sure that you have these entries without X in front of it :

    DNS1=addondomain.com
    and
    DNS2=sub.maindomain.com

    and try deleting the addon domain again.
     
  4. hardjoko

    hardjoko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just to let you know

    This happen to virtually all domain names with subdomain to me.

    I think this might be the source of the problem. One day, one of my users make thousands subdomain names.

    And then we run into problem because the logging system use too many files.

    So to accomodate that user, I modify the httpd.conf to reduce the number of domlogs opened.

    Now, I run into all sort of problems :(
     
  5. hardjoko

    hardjoko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think I will tell that users to just delete his subdomain names or leave. However, meanwhile, is there away to restore my httpd.conf to the "natural" state cpanel decide.
     
  6. hardjoko

    hardjoko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think I've found a solution

    I back up all the data. Then I terminate the account. Then I recreate the same account. Then I restore the files. The users don't mind. By doing so I removed all the subdomains.

    now is there a way to terminate or create an account from shell?
     
Loading...

Share This Page