The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot save changes in Basic Configuration

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by janipewter, May 19, 2017.

Tags:
  1. janipewter

    janipewter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am trying to configure IPv6 on my server.

    I have two IPv4 addresses (one physical NIC) both working fine, IPv4 address #1 is the system shared IP and is used for ns1 and everything else, IPv4 address #2 is a dedicated IP and is only used for ns2 and a single site.

    My ISP has assigned me an IPv6 /80 I think, and I have successfully configured one address (I just used the very first one) to the server's NIC and can ping other ipv6 hosts on the internet as well ping it from other ipv6 hosts (such as home).

    I have configured mailserver and cpanel services to listen on IPv6 also. As per cPanel manual "Guide to IPv6" in the IPv6 Ranges menu I added the IPv6 gateway address as reserved, and also added a small /120 segment at the bottom of the pool as reserved (more on that in a sec). I then added the entire /80 as a shared address pool so I can start assigning IPv6 addresses to my sites.

    I go to the Assign IPv6 Address menu and I see a message on the right which says "You have not configured a shared IPv6 address. To do this, use the Basic cPanel & WHM Setup interface." (more on this in a sec too).

    I pick a site and select my shared address pool in the drop down menu and click Enable. Now it seems to fail quietly, as all that happens is the drop down menu disappears. No confirmation message, and if I refresh the page, IPv6 has not been enabled for that site.

    Anyway, I head on over to the WHM Basic Configuration to set up a shared IPv6 address. I enter the address I intend to use (which is definitely not assigned to anything else, and it's in my reserved range anyway), click Save Changes, then all I get is a page saying "This system has 0 free IP's". No confirmation message again, it just seems to fail silently as if I navigate to the shared IPv6 address setting again in the Basic Configuration, there is nothing in the box.

    I also see that I should configure my nameserver address records to add IPv6 addresses, so I try that. Where it says "Enter an IPv6 address to create an AAAA record (optional)" I put in another IPv6 address (a different one in my reserved range, not used by anything else), click on Configure Address Records, and I get some confirmation message which looks promising:

    Code:
    Configuring Address Records for nameserver...                  
                      
    Bind reloading on <server hostname> using rndc zone: [ns1.<mydomain>]
    
    
    ...Done
    
    The following IP addresses have been assigned to the ns1.<mydomain> nameserver:
    
       IPv4 #1 address
      
       IPv6 address I have chosen for ns1 (also the same IPv6 address assigned to the server's NIC)
    
    I close this window, click Save Changes, then once again it seems to fail quietly and I just get the "This system has 0 free IP's" message and none of the changes have been saved.

    So at this moment I cannot use IPv6 in cPanel. Please help.
     
    #1 janipewter, May 19, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2017
  2. cPLevey

    cPLevey Technical Analyst Supervisor
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello janipewter,

    From WHM's (Home >> IP Functions >> Show or Delete Current IP Addresses), do you see the IPv6 address listed that you are attempting to add in the Basic cPanel & WHM Setup interface?
     
  3. janipewter

    janipewter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, just my two IPv4 addresses.
     
  4. janipewter

    janipewter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Have you enabled the IPv6 in the tweak settings?
    Home >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings and select On for the Listen on IPv6 Addresses setting.

    Please check once if this is enable or not..
     
  6. janipewter

    janipewter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it is enabled.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    34,950
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look at the affected system. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  8. janipewter

    janipewter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Switched to PowerDNS, all issues now resolved and everything working nicely. Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page