The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot show Suspended Account Page ????

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by hkewell, Aug 19, 2002.

  1. hkewell

    hkewell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I suspend account, but his supended page cannot to show out ??
    Why ?
     
  2. hkewell

    hkewell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    who can tell me ?

    Thanks
     
  3. rdimaggio

    rdimaggio Registered

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    neither does mine! :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is just another issue with cpanel. The suspended page never worked. Its like the counter bug and all the others which go unfixed.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well what url does it goto when you try visit the suspended site ?
    What errors do you get? (e.g. A cannot find server in ie?)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The suspended page works perfectly. You have to create it first. Select "Modify Suspended Account Page" from WHM, then save the page.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. rdimaggio

    rdimaggio Registered

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did that and it does not work, it does not redirect to any page, it just gives a 404 error page.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    The suspended.page works just fine. It's never been an issue.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. rdimaggio

    rdimaggio Registered

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    then why can't you help us fix ours? :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If it was never an issue then why is there a huge thread on the subject where it practically takes a genius to weed through the fixes to get it working? I have never been able to suspend anyone, at least none of my reseller ever got the suspended page, likewise our reseller cannot suspend users. On top of that, ftp still works and email still flows even when the account is suspended. Just another issue with suspensions.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Never said I wouldn't.

    I will though agree the not all things with suspending an account are perfect.

    The best way to setup the suspend page is to NOT do it in WHM firstly.

    In a shell session -

    cd /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    mkdir suspended.page
    cd suspended.page
    pico index.html <- Enter what you want the page to say

    Done.

    Now a suspended account with show this page.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    I never said that suspending was not a issue, I said the suspended page was not one.

    Typing a few shell commands and it works fine. I've done it on ours, I've done it for other clients. None have had issues with it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Understandable! Cpanel is supposed to take the worry out of hosting virtual accounts on your server. Its is supposed to be a worry free, hack free control panel that any idiot can use to administer web hosting. Its not supposed to be software that people have to constantely drop to root to fix, patch, modify, change permissions on etc etc etc. It supposed to work, out of the box with little intervention with the exception of securing the box its not supposed to be a full time system admin job. Thats what a control panel is suppose to offer and thats why we pay high prices for software thats supposed to be doing what it was designed to do. I spend more time fixing this thing then actually advertising to sell which is really sad. Im glad you all have so much time to to be root admins. Does anyone even have time to run a business?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How about 80 other resellers who dont have suspended.page in their virtual domain?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try the perl script at http://www.johnt.me.uk/masscreate.txt

    Make sure you have modifed /usr/local/apache/htdocs/suspended.page/index.html
    first to your liking or to a base template

    then run it as root perl masscreate.txt

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats very helpful, than you.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no idea weather it would work on perl 5.8 btw since i wrote it & tested it on 5.6.1

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Listen that page has something to do with being made after a account is setup. Do this if you have made your page. Go to the account you want to suspend make it active. Then go the change account ownership select that account . Select the owner if it is root then select root, then click save. Now go and suspend the account again. Now it should show suspended page.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    At first i though there was no suspended.page directory or html in that directory but when i looked its already there. The question is as the server admin when i suspended a site when is this page supposed to come up? After the user log into his account or when the user tries to load http://hisdomain.com:2082?

    As it stands right now this refuses to load either way. I can simply log into the account without anything redirecting. Crazy!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    When suspending works the following is what happens;

    1. When anyone goes to their URL http://domain.com the http://serverdomain/suspended.page/index.html is shown instead of the users site.

    2. The users account passwd in /etc/shadow is disabled by adding !! to the beginning of the password.

    When an account is suspended the user should not have access to their site, account, mail, etc...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page