The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot stay logged into cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mazer, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. Mazer

    Mazer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have difficulty logging into cpanel, I have used the correct passwords etc but I am continually prompted for username and password. Sometimes it will work and others it wont (using the same username/password), but when I can login any link I click will go back to prompting me.

    This is happening among all hosts I use and I am sure not all of them updated the cpanel software - also no one else seems to be having this problem. So I have came to the conclusion that it must be our Network not allowing cpanel to set a cookie or session that is causing it to fail.

    Can anyone list settings or network issues that might cause this to happen?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you tried clearing your cache, or another browser just to try and narrow it down a bit?
     
  3. Mazer

    Mazer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried it in Firefox & Chrome I cleared browser cache in each of them, the issue is relevant to both browsers
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When this happens are you always logged in from the same computer?
     
  5. Mazer

    Mazer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeh Kenneth always the same computer - my colleague has the same issue - I will try it on another network later and post the findings.
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm just guessing here, but it sounds like the following scenario may apply:

    1. The cPanel server has the following setting enabled:

    Validate the IP addresses used in all cookie based logins. This will limit the ability of attackers who capture cPanel session cookies to use them in an exploit of the cPanel or WebHost Manager interfaces. For this setting to have maximum effectiveness, proxydomains should also be disabled.

    2. Your ISP aggressively changes your IP address every few seconds/minutes

    3. Due to 1 and 2, you are prompted to re-authenticate frequently.

    We've had a few tickets about that scenario and have introduced a change to how the validation works in 11.28. Beginning with that version we verify the IP address is in the same class C subnet as the original login.
     
  7. soundcomputers

    soundcomputers Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was having a similar problem with a cpanel from a site I just started hosting, but with the old ones, I was able to stay logged in the whole time. I only use firefox normally, but i tested it in IE and opera, same result. Should i look into it farther or will i just need to keeping re-logging every 10 minutes or so?
     
  8. Mazer

    Mazer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The issue was rapidly circulating IP addresses - I apologize for this taking a while to reply. The network admin has given us a static IP address and the issue is resolved.

    Thanks for all your help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page