The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot update Wordpress version for my users

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shay Atik, Sep 26, 2014.

  1. Shay Atik

    Shay Atik Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cortlandt Manor, New York, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi.

    I have a VPS with GoDaddy, WHM and 14 accounts (they are all mine).

    2 months ago, I installed Wordpress for each and every account from their cPanel. Back then, the version was 3.9.

    Now I want to update them all to 4.0, but Wordpress won't offer me to update.

    I also tried to do that from WHM (see image whm-1), but I get (see image whm-2) "Requires MySQL 5 or newer.

    Could not prepare working directory: No such file or directory".

    I have MySQL 5.5.37 installed.

    Any suggestions? Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kdean

    kdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I wouldn't recommend blindly updating wordpress installs for everyone like that anyway. Wordpress updates can introduce compatibility issues with themes and plugins, so each site should really be evaluated to ensure that the plugins used are compatible with 4 and the theme is compatible with 4. If the theme and plugins are kept up-to-date, then most things will likely work fine, but all it takes is one thing to cause problems. This pretty much goes for any major wordpress update.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    To clarify, did you upgrade these installations of WordPress through their administrator dashboard at any point in time, or have they always been installed and updated through cPanel/WHM?

    Thank you.
     
  4. Jachgu

    Jachgu Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have Godaddy too - gives same error you mention! I am for sure running mysql 5.6

     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To clarify, did you upgrade these installations of WordPress through their administrator dashboard at any point in time, or have they always been installed and updated through cPanel/WHM?

    Thank you.
     
  6. Jachgu

    Jachgu Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The only thing I can think of was - changed directory after installs.
     
  7. Jachgu

    Jachgu Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can only assume.. It obviously can easily happen in the update on wordpress menu.

    I assume we will still be able to manually update wp to 4 and we can ignore the Manage cPAddons Site Software updates
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To ensure the application remains managed by cPanel, you can only upgrade using the links provided in the email, or via the "Site Software" option within cPanel. Anytime you manually upgrade or move an application through the application's administrative panel, or by uploading the files via FTP, it prevents cPanel from managing that application at any point in the future. Thus, you must remove the cPAddon data (it's stored in a YAML file) for the application you manually upgraded from the following directory:

    Code:
    /home/username/.cpaddons/
    Thank you.
     
  9. Jachgu

    Jachgu Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Alright so we are clear - Once a user updates through wordpress its a broken cPaddon. We can move forward with all other updates on our own manually or automatically through wordpress. And as a good cPanel housekeeping we should remove the data in YAML.

    Jachgu

     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that is correct.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page