The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot Update Wordpress via cPanel Site Software

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lefterisan, Apr 22, 2015.

  1. Lefterisan

    Lefterisan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have some wordpress installations using cPAddons Site Software.
    Yesterday 4.1.2 released and there is no update notifications on wordpress panel or on cpanel section.

    Other manual wordpress installation auto updated last night.

    Thanks

    (cpanel wordpress version under cPAddons Site Software is still 4.1.1)
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    There is an internal case open to update the WordPress cPAddon to version 4.1.2. For reference, the case number is 185841. It shows as closed, so you should be able to update cPanel to see the new version available:

    Code:
    /scripts/upcp --force
    Thank you.
     
  3. Lefterisan

    Lefterisan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Still Nothing
    On whm 4.1.1 and on cpanel
    Upgrade:
    No upgradable installs
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Browse to "WHM Home » cPanel » Install cPAddons Site Software" and enable:

    "Force Refresh of All cPAddons Site Software Sources"

    Do you notice any error messages during the WordPress source refresh?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Lefterisan

    Lefterisan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I dont see any error.

    At the path http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/

    i see only 4.1.1 files.



    Code:
    pdating Local Addons Database...
    
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5/.cpanelsync.lock (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/12)...Using dns cache file /root/.HttpRequest/httpupdate.cpanel.net......searching for mirrors (mirror search attempt 1/3)......loaded mirror speeds from cache......mirror search success......connecting to 91.121.124.18...@91.121.124.18......connected......receiving......request success......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5/.cpanelsync.bz2 (connected:1).......(request attempt 1/12)...@91.121.124.18......connected......receiving...100%......request success......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5/.cpanelsync (connected:1).......(request attempt 1/12)...@91.121.124.18......connected......receiving...100%......request success......Done
    
    Installing cPanel::Blogs::WordPress...
    
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/.cpanelsync.lock (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/12)...Using dns cache file /root/.HttpRequest/httpupdate.cpanel.net......searching for mirrors (mirror search attempt 1/3)......loaded mirror speeds from cache......mirror search success......connecting to 91.121.124.18...@91.121.124.18......connected......receiving......request success......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/.cpanelsync.bz2 (connected:1).......(request attempt 1/12)...@91.121.124.18......connected......receiving...100%......request success......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/.cpanelsync (connected:1).......(request attempt 1/12)...@91.121.124.18......connected......receiving...100%......request success......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress.pm (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/12)...Using dns cache file /root/.HttpRequest/httpupdate.cpanel.net......searching for mirrors (mirror search attempt 1/3)......loaded mirror speeds from cache......mirror search success......connecting to 91.121.124.18...@91.121.124.18......connected......receiving...100%......request success......Done
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It looks like it's not yet published to:

    Code:
    http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/
    You can monitor this URL to see when the updated version is available. Note that we don't always publish a new version right away after WordPress releases it, as we have to complete testing to verify it works as expected.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Lefterisan

    Lefterisan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok thanks.

    Why inside the wordpress control panel there is no update notification? (on other wordpress manual installed i get the notification)
     
  8. mokummusic

    mokummusic Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Still nothing.. this is pathetic.. there have now been 2 releases since 4.1.1.

    4.1.2 was pushed as a security update and should installed immediately.

    I now have two Wordpress sites that I made the big mistake of installing through Cpanel's site software feature, that wont update.

    HOW DO I ACTIVATE THE DEFAULT WORDPRESS AUTOMATIC INSTALLS ??
     
  9. Jeff L

    Jeff L Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've used cP's "Site Software" (S-S) to install Wordpress. Unfortunately, the WP version installed by Site Software is outdated since WP has released a security update - ergo, the need to immediately update WP from 4.1 to 4.2. I'm the VPS admin and S-S has not yet released an update to 4.2 - ergo the need to upgrade manually.

    I know I could avoid this issue by FTPing WP but . . . Site Software is such a nice speedy tool . . except for its "release -> delay" issues.

    After using S-S I've repeatedly attempted to update WP using the WP admin panel but the admin panel will only display updates for plugins and themes. I'm unable to trigger an update message or update "in fact" for the WP core files.

    I've tried deleting the cPAddon xml file -> /.cpaddons/cPanel::Blogs::WordPress.0.yaml and then attempting a core update. No success.

    I've tried inserting various WP update commands in the wp-config file. No change in behavior.

    Soooooo . . . WHERE can I find (and alter) the line(s) of code that is blocking my ability to manually force an update of the WP core?

    Does anyone know "exactly where" to find the lines of code and whether that code is (presumably) editable?

    I read somewhere else that part of the problem is attributable to MySQL configurations, initiated by S-S, but I'm not able to identify any specific commands / controls. In fact, I can't find any authoritative reference for this suggestion.

    I understand that once I execute a manual WP upgrade this will (may?) bork Site Software's ability to manage future updates HOWEVER it's my experience that this isn't a problem since, once WP "assumes control" of core updates WP does a nice job - by itself - of automatically updating the core.

    Finding a wordaround for this has been a real PITA. I've searched and searched again. Any and all effective assistance will be greatly appreciated. My VPS is running the most recent ver of PHP, etc. Thank you.
     
  10. Jeff L

    Jeff L Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I understand "who's the boss" but my thread title was a bit more informative and "searchable" for those confronting this issue. Also, the majority of the thread, above, is devoted to WHM -> Site Software updates "as the solution" whereas my thread specifically sought a workaround to Site Software (apparently) blocking a manual upgrade of Wordpress.

    So, other than "not using Site Software" IS THERE a workaround - to executing a WP core update - once Site Sortware has been used, even if that action eviscerates SS's ability to control future updates?

    Thanks and respect for your efforts as mods. (I'm a mod at another forum and know it can be a PITA.)
     
  11. Lefterisan

    Lefterisan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Im trying to upgrade from cp and i get this error

    Code:
    Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
    Apply anyway? [n]
    1 out of 1 hunk ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/_inc/akismet.css.rej
    Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
    Apply anyway? [n]
    1 out of 1 hunk ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/_inc/akismet.js.rej
    Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
    Apply anyway? [n]
    2 out of 2 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/akismet.php.rej
    Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
    Apply anyway? [n]
    10 out of 10 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/class.akismet.php.rej
    Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
    Apply anyway? [n]
    2 out of 2 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/readme.txt.rej
    Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
    Apply anyway? [n]
    2 out of 2 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/views/config.php.rej
    Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
    Apply anyway? [n]
    1 out of 1 hunk ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/views/notice.php.rej
    Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
    Apply anyway? [n]
    6 out of 6 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/wrapper.php.rej
    This Addon has been modified (or the upgrade test failed) and is no longer updatable via this function.
    
    If you really want to force the upgrade please type the following in to the form below:
    
    I fully understand what I am doing and take full responsibility for my actions. I have backed up all my data so I can remove the installation, reinstall fresh and import my old info into the new install if necessary. I understand that anything that breaks by forcing this upgrade is 100% my responsibility.
    How can i enable wp updates that cp have disabled
     
  12. Jeff L

    Jeff L Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've asked for assistance on ^this^ very issue of "forcing a manual WP update after using Site Software" to install Wordpress. Since Wordpress does a nice job of supporting automatic security updates I can't conceive of a good faith reason why Site Software would be coded to BLOCK manual / automatic security updates? I mean, which is the greater risk: thwarting a known security update (the current S.S. situation) OR allowing cP / WP users to take responsibility for (automatically / manually) updating WP once they have installed WP using S S? Just tell Site Software users, in plain language, that is what will happen once they manually update. Don't "block" updates - which is what I'm dealing with now.

    My thread: - Removed - Threads Merged -
     
    #13 Jeff L, Apr 24, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2015
    Mysticeti likes this.
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    1. WordPress version 4.2.1 is now available as a cPAddon under the "Site Software" option in cPanel. This is manageable through:

    "WHM Home » cPanel » Install cPAddons Site Software"

    2. You should be able to manually update WordPress at anytime through the WP admin panel, though doing so will prevent you from using the "Site Software" option to manage the installation in the future. You can use the upgrade instructions available at the following URL should you choose to do this:

    https://codex.wordpress.org/Upgrading_WordPress_-_Extended_Instructions

    Thank you.
     
  14. StevenSokulski

    StevenSokulski Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you saying that we should be able to use the one-click update from the WP admin panel? Or that once we perform a manual update per the linked instructions we will be able to use the one-click update going forward?
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've seen reports of users successfully upgrading directly from the WP interface, however in cases where it does not work, you should try the instructions that WordPress provides in the link referenced in my last response. Keep in mind that you can no longer upgrade WordPress through the "Site Software" option in cPanel in either case.

    Thank you.
     
  16. John S

    John S Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The cPanel version of WP inserts a return in wp-admin/update-core.php and wp-admin/includes/update.php that prevent updates via the WP admin panel. I feel more comfortable updating WP through WP. I want to update security exposures immediately but this approach might not be for everyone. Cheers.
     
  17. John S

    John S Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Specifically remove the following two lines from the files indicated above.

    # cPanel override: Do not display the current or the latest version, because we've disabled updates.
    return;

    I appreciate cPanel's desire for controlled releases but I need more flexibility in responding to security exposures. Again this might not apply to everyone's situation.
     
    Mysticeti likes this.
  18. STEVEN TOTH

    STEVEN TOTH Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DETROIT
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    That's great that there is a "work around", but is there a way to set up the site software installer to not add those extra lines of code?
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Beyond creating a feature request for that change, you could disable WordPress as as cPAddon and require users to install it manually or through another automatic installer script from a third-party such as Softaculous.

    Thank you.
     
  20. STEVEN TOTH

    STEVEN TOTH Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DETROIT
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, thank you you!
     
Loading...

Share This Page