Cannot Update Wordpress via cPanel Site Software

Lefterisan

Member
Apr 22, 2015
5
0
1
Greece
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello,

I have some wordpress installations using cPAddons Site Software.
Yesterday 4.1.2 released and there is no update notifications on wordpress panel or on cpanel section.

Other manual wordpress installation auto updated last night.

Thanks

(cpanel wordpress version under cPAddons Site Software is still 4.1.1)
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,202
363
Hello,

There is an internal case open to update the WordPress cPAddon to version 4.1.2. For reference, the case number is 185841. It shows as closed, so you should be able to update cPanel to see the new version available:

Code:
/scripts/upcp --force
Thank you.
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,202
363
Browse to "WHM Home » cPanel » Install cPAddons Site Software" and enable:

"Force Refresh of All cPAddons Site Software Sources"

Do you notice any error messages during the WordPress source refresh?

Thank you.
 

Lefterisan

Member
Apr 22, 2015
5
0
1
Greece
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Browse to "WHM Home » cPanel » Install cPAddons Site Software" and enable:

"Force Refresh of All cPAddons Site Software Sources"

Do you notice any error messages during the WordPress source refresh?

Thank you.
I dont see any error.

At the path http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/

i see only 4.1.1 files.



Code:
pdating Local Addons Database...

Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5/.cpanelsync.lock (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/12)...Using dns cache file /root/.HttpRequest/httpupdate.cpanel.net......searching for mirrors (mirror search attempt 1/3)......loaded mirror speeds from cache......mirror search success......connecting to [email protected]..request success......Done
Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5/.cpanelsync.bz2 (connected:1).......(request attempt 1/12)[email protected]%......request success......Done
Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5/.cpanelsync (connected:1).......(request attempt 1/12)[email protected]%......request success......Done

Installing cPanel::Blogs::WordPress...

Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/.cpanelsync.lock (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/12)...Using dns cache file /root/.HttpRequest/httpupdate.cpanel.net......searching for mirrors (mirror search attempt 1/3)......loaded mirror speeds from cache......mirror search success......connecting to [email protected]..request success......Done
Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/.cpanelsync.bz2 (connected:1).......(request attempt 1/12)[email protected]%......request success......Done
Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/.cpanelsync (connected:1).......(request attempt 1/12)[email protected]%......request success......Done
Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress.pm (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/12)...Using dns cache file /root/.HttpRequest/httpupdate.cpanel.net......searching for mirrors (mirror search attempt 1/3)......loaded mirror speeds from cache......mirror search success......connecting to [email protected]00%......request success......Done
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,202
363
It looks like it's not yet published to:

Code:
http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/
You can monitor this URL to see when the updated version is available. Note that we don't always publish a new version right away after WordPress releases it, as we have to complete testing to verify it works as expected.

Thank you.
 

Lefterisan

Member
Apr 22, 2015
5
0
1
Greece
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
It looks like it's not yet published to:

Code:
http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Blogs/WordPress/
You can monitor this URL to see when the updated version is available. Note that we don't always publish a new version right away after WordPress releases it, as we have to complete testing to verify it works as expected.

Thank you.
Ok thanks.

Why inside the wordpress control panel there is no update notification? (on other wordpress manual installed i get the notification)
 

mokummusic

Member
Sep 7, 2014
6
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Still nothing.. this is pathetic.. there have now been 2 releases since 4.1.1.

4.1.2 was pushed as a security update and should installed immediately.

I now have two Wordpress sites that I made the big mistake of installing through Cpanel's site software feature, that wont update.

HOW DO I ACTIVATE THE DEFAULT WORDPRESS AUTOMATIC INSTALLS ??
 

Jeff L

Registered
Apr 24, 2015
3
1
3
USA
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I've used cP's "Site Software" (S-S) to install Wordpress. Unfortunately, the WP version installed by Site Software is outdated since WP has released a security update - ergo, the need to immediately update WP from 4.1 to 4.2. I'm the VPS admin and S-S has not yet released an update to 4.2 - ergo the need to upgrade manually.

I know I could avoid this issue by FTPing WP but . . . Site Software is such a nice speedy tool . . except for its "release -> delay" issues.

After using S-S I've repeatedly attempted to update WP using the WP admin panel but the admin panel will only display updates for plugins and themes. I'm unable to trigger an update message or update "in fact" for the WP core files.

I've tried deleting the cPAddon xml file -> /.cpaddons/cPanel::Blogs::WordPress.0.yaml and then attempting a core update. No success.

I've tried inserting various WP update commands in the wp-config file. No change in behavior.

Soooooo . . . WHERE can I find (and alter) the line(s) of code that is blocking my ability to manually force an update of the WP core?

Does anyone know "exactly where" to find the lines of code and whether that code is (presumably) editable?

I read somewhere else that part of the problem is attributable to MySQL configurations, initiated by S-S, but I'm not able to identify any specific commands / controls. In fact, I can't find any authoritative reference for this suggestion.

I understand that once I execute a manual WP upgrade this will (may?) bork Site Software's ability to manage future updates HOWEVER it's my experience that this isn't a problem since, once WP "assumes control" of core updates WP does a nice job - by itself - of automatically updating the core.

Finding a wordaround for this has been a real PITA. I've searched and searched again. Any and all effective assistance will be greatly appreciated. My VPS is running the most recent ver of PHP, etc. Thank you.
 

Jeff L

Registered
Apr 24, 2015
3
1
3
USA
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I've asked for assistance on ^this^ very issue of "forcing a manual WP update after using Site Software" to install Wordpress. Since Wordpress does a nice job of supporting automatic security updates I can't conceive of a good faith reason why Site Software would be coded to BLOCK manual / automatic security updates? I mean, which is the greater risk: thwarting a known security update (the current S.S. situation) OR allowing cP / WP users to take responsibility for (automatically / manually) updating WP once they have installed WP using S S? Just tell Site Software users, in plain language, that is what will happen once they manually update. Don't "block" updates - which is what I'm dealing with now.

My thread: - Removed - Threads Merged -
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: Mysticeti

Jeff L

Registered
Apr 24, 2015
3
1
3
USA
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I understand "who's the boss" but my thread title was a bit more informative and "searchable" for those confronting this issue. Also, the majority of the thread, above, is devoted to WHM -> Site Software updates "as the solution" whereas my thread specifically sought a workaround to Site Software (apparently) blocking a manual upgrade of Wordpress.

So, other than "not using Site Software" IS THERE a workaround - to executing a WP core update - once Site Sortware has been used, even if that action eviscerates SS's ability to control future updates?

Thanks and respect for your efforts as mods. (I'm a mod at another forum and know it can be a PITA.)
 

Lefterisan

Member
Apr 22, 2015
5
0
1
Greece
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Im trying to upgrade from cp and i get this error

Code:
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
Apply anyway? [n]
1 out of 1 hunk ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/_inc/akismet.css.rej
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
Apply anyway? [n]
1 out of 1 hunk ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/_inc/akismet.js.rej
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
Apply anyway? [n]
2 out of 2 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/akismet.php.rej
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
Apply anyway? [n]
10 out of 10 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/class.akismet.php.rej
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
Apply anyway? [n]
2 out of 2 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/readme.txt.rej
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
Apply anyway? [n]
2 out of 2 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/views/config.php.rej
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
Apply anyway? [n]
1 out of 1 hunk ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/views/notice.php.rej
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]
Apply anyway? [n]
6 out of 6 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file wp-content/plugins/akismet/wrapper.php.rej
This Addon has been modified (or the upgrade test failed) and is no longer updatable via this function.

If you really want to force the upgrade please type the following in to the form below:

I fully understand what I am doing and take full responsibility for my actions. I have backed up all my data so I can remove the installation, reinstall fresh and import my old info into the new install if necessary. I understand that anything that breaks by forcing this upgrade is 100% my responsibility.
How can i enable wp updates that cp have disabled
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,202
363
Hello,

1. WordPress version 4.2.1 is now available as a cPAddon under the "Site Software" option in cPanel. This is manageable through:

"WHM Home » cPanel » Install cPAddons Site Software"

2. You should be able to manually update WordPress at anytime through the WP admin panel, though doing so will prevent you from using the "Site Software" option to manage the installation in the future. You can use the upgrade instructions available at the following URL should you choose to do this:

https://codex.wordpress.org/Upgrading_WordPress_-_Extended_Instructions

Thank you.
 

StevenSokulski

Registered
May 7, 2015
3
0
1
Las Vegas, NV
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello,
2. You should be able to manually update WordPress at anytime through the WP admin panel, though doing so will prevent you from using the "Site Software" option to manage the installation in the future. You can use the upgrade instructions available at the following URL should you choose to do this:

https://codex.wordpress.org/Upgrading_WordPress_-_Extended_Instructions
Are you saying that we should be able to use the one-click update from the WP admin panel? Or that once we perform a manual update per the linked instructions we will be able to use the one-click update going forward?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,202
363
Are you saying that we should be able to use the one-click update from the WP admin panel? Or that once we perform a manual update per the linked instructions we will be able to use the one-click update going forward?
I've seen reports of users successfully upgrading directly from the WP interface, however in cases where it does not work, you should try the instructions that WordPress provides in the link referenced in my last response. Keep in mind that you can no longer upgrade WordPress through the "Site Software" option in cPanel in either case.

Thank you.
 

John S

Registered
May 7, 2015
2
1
3
New Jersey
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
The cPanel version of WP inserts a return in wp-admin/update-core.php and wp-admin/includes/update.php that prevent updates via the WP admin panel. I feel more comfortable updating WP through WP. I want to update security exposures immediately but this approach might not be for everyone. Cheers.
 

John S

Registered
May 7, 2015
2
1
3
New Jersey
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
The cPanel version of WP inserts a return in wp-admin/update-core.php and wp-admin/includes/update.php that prevent updates via the WP admin panel. I feel more comfortable updating WP through WP. I want to update security exposures immediately but this approach might not be for everyone. Cheers.
Specifically remove the following two lines from the files indicated above.

# cPanel override: Do not display the current or the latest version, because we've disabled updates.
return;

I appreciate cPanel's desire for controlled releases but I need more flexibility in responding to security exposures. Again this might not apply to everyone's situation.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mysticeti

STEVEN TOTH

Registered
May 14, 2015
2
0
1
DETROIT
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Specifically remove the following two lines from the files indicated above.

# cPanel override: Do not display the current or the latest version, because we've disabled updates.
return;

I appreciate cPanel's desire for controlled releases but I need more flexibility in responding to security exposures. Again this might not apply to everyone's situation.

That's great that there is a "work around", but is there a way to set up the site software installer to not add those extra lines of code?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,202
363
That's great that there is a "work around", but is there a way to set up the site software installer to not add those extra lines of code?
Hello,

Beyond creating a feature request for that change, you could disable WordPress as as cPAddon and require users to install it manually or through another automatic installer script from a third-party such as Softaculous.

Thank you.