The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot utilize needed hostname on second server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gibberish, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. Gibberish

    Gibberish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hopefully I explain this clearly.

    I have 2 web servers, live and development. All domains are managed through an external DNS. I am not using WHM/Cpanel nameservers.

    Live server hostname is like: liveserver.mysite.com
    Dev server hostname is like: devserver.mysite.com

    My live server is up and running fine with WHM/Cpanel. I can access everything perfectly through the hostname:2086.

    If I go to the devserver hostname I get a page not found, the DNS A record for the subdomain is pointing to the devserver IP. I setup a test on another domain I own: dev.othersite.com. I pointed this A record to the devserver and I can access WHM fine through this test url but cannot get into cpanel for specific accounts. I assume this is because the test url is NOT the hostname.

    I need the host name to be devserver.mysite.com but I am thinking there is some sort of conflict with the DNS?

    Here is a breakdown of what the DNS for mysite.com looks like and please tell me if any of you see possible conflicts.

    live server IP: 123.456.789.01
    dev server IP; 123.456.789.02

    www.mysite.com - 123.456.789.01
    @ (None).mysite.com - 123.456.789.01
    * (All Others).mysite.com - 123.456.789.01
    liveserver.mysite.com - 123.456.789.01
    devserver.mysite.com - 123.456.789.02
     
  2. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    1. Have you tried removing the A records for your hostname and then adding it back again?
    2. have you checked that the NS entries for your hostname's main domain is pointed correctly at the Registrar?
     
  3. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Please make sure that there is no separate entry for devserver.mysite.com in named.conf and seperate DNS zone file for devserver.mysite.com. You only need the DNS A entry for devserver in the DNS zone file of mysite.com.
     
  4. xerophyte

    xerophyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    use nslookup or dig to find the test serve real ip address, looks like *(all) seems to give the live server ip address for the test server too.

    Beside IP address oct does not go over 255

    hope that helps
     
  5. Gibberish

    Gibberish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WebScHoLaR's procedure worked. Thank you all for your response.
     
Loading...

Share This Page