The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot view site using ip address or domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by drp, Sep 4, 2014.

  1. drp

    drp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi. I've recently installed cPanel/WHM, created an account and am trying to view the site using http://ipaddress/~account but the browser can't seem to connect. Chrome, for example, gives the error code 'ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED'.

    I can upload files okay using FTP fine and verify they are there and Apache mod_userdir Tweak > Enable mod_userdir Protection is not checked. Similarly, although I can't access the site using its domain either.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. drp

    drp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update: I've been through Troubleshooting a Recent Installation.

    I disabled the nameserver option when installing as I just want to use the hosting company's, but checked using "host example.com" and it returned the IP address fine, so I think it's not that, right?

    I've disabled the firewall using "/etc/init.d/iptables save" and "/etc/init.d/iptables stop".

    Still no joy. Anyone?
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. drp

    drp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep, you're on to something:
    Failed to receive status information from Apache.
    Unable to connect to local httpd server.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you receive any error messages when attempting to restart Apache? EX:

    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_httpd
    You may need to run EasyApache to ensure Apache/PHP build successfully:

    Code:
    /scripts/easyapache
    Or;

    "WHM Home » Software » EasyApache (Apache Update)"

    Thank you.
     
  6. drp

    drp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks. Ran this:
    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_httpd
    No errors, but didn't see anything else happen either - should I (new to to linux)

    Currently trying easyapache but update server has been busy for the last 30 minutes or so...
     
  7. drp

    drp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Trying to restart APache using Restart Services > HTTP Server (Apache) gives the following:
    Apache restart failed. Unable to load pid from pid file and no httpd process found in process list.

    If apache restart reported success but it failed soon after, it may be caused by oddities with mod_ssl.

    You should run /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/ssl_crt_status as part of your troubleshooting process. Pass it --help for more details.

    Also be sure to examine apache's various log files.
    Apache Restart Output:

    Log:
     
Loading...

Share This Page