The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't Access one domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mickalo, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Hello,

    we have a domain on our server, www.decisionbar.com which all of sudden can be viewed, keep getting the error:
    Code:
    You don't have permission to access / on this server.
    
    the site was working fine earlier this morning, everything else is working... FTP, shell access,..etc. DNS is ok. The /public_html folder is set correctly and hasn't been changed... this one has me stumped!

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    we found this in the apache error log:
    Code:
    Permission denied: /home/decision/public_html/.htaccess pcfg_openfile: unable to check htaccess file, ensure it is readable
    
    what exactly does this mean... never seen this type of error before?

    Mickalo
     
    #1 mickalo, Mar 14, 2006
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2006
  2. C4talyst

    C4talyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sucks that no one answered you on this one. Same problem here. Error message is obviously self-explanatory, however chmod 777 doesn't do squat. I'm at a loss so far.
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,452
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Rename your .htaccess file to .htaccess.txt for a moment and test the site. Does that fix it? If it does you know where the problem is.
     
  4. C4talyst

    C4talyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tried it, didn't change anything...same error.
     
  5. C4talyst

    C4talyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Looks like the public_html folder needed a chmod 755, fixed it. Strangely, I had already done this a few days ago, I wonder if some cpanel script autochanges permissions on these directories?
     
  6. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    They should be 755 by default from our side. If you see the directory changing frequently to different permissions, feel free to submit a support ticket and we'll take a look. It's possible that the customer is uploading the entire public_html directory or using a synchronize function in publishing software that is pulling in a public_html with different permissions.
     
  7. greetingsc

    greetingsc Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Dave -

    I just ran apache update and ran across this exact problem. I had no problems before the update and after had to chmod 755 each accounts public_html folder individually to get everything working again.

    On my other server all public_html folders are currently 750. What is the correct permission for the folder, and is there something wrong in apache update that causes permisisons to be set incorrectly?

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  8. greetingsc

    greetingsc Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It seems the problem wasn't the folder permissions, but for some reason httpd.conf had 'Group daemon' instead of 'Group nobody'

    Mike
     
  9. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Interesting. What happens if you run /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf? Does 'daemon' come back?

    FYI: You can save manual httpd.conf edits using /usr/local/apache/bin/apache_conf_distiller --update
     
  10. greetingsc

    greetingsc Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I ran /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf and 'Group daemon' came back. I had to manually change it back to 'Group nobody' and restart apache.

    Thanks for the help,
    Mike

    P.S. I put in a ticket to make sure this gets fixed, support request id #305874.
     
  11. Cristi4n

    Cristi4n Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just had the same problem.
    Maby it will help you debug:
    Centos 5.2 final x64.
    I have upgraded to cPanel 11.24.4-C32443 and then I rebuilt Apache 2.2 with php 5.2.8. The daemon group came up.
    I had a modified httpd.conf.
     
  12. mitgib

    mitgib Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'd been seeing this problem as well, this thread helped me alot, but what nobody has mentioned, after changing httpd.conf run

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/apache_conf_distiller --update
    
    So the changes stick
     
Loading...

Share This Page