The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't Access SSH & WHM after 15 minutes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 247hostingnz, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. 247hostingnz

    247hostingnz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    We are having a pretty major issue at the moment, we have purchased a new Supermicro Dual Quad Core Server and we have installed CentOS & cpanelsource have installed the cPanel sofware.

    However after about 15 minutes we are unable to access WHM or SSH and we must fully reboot the server via the console. We have since re-installed CentOS and cPanel but we end up with the same problems

    Our DC is not providing any firewalling and all firewalls on our server have been disabled including SELINUX.

    Looking at the logs it is not providing any information that would point to the issue. It seems like after 15 minutes the system fully closes all ports and will only open them when the server is rebooted...

    We have spoken to cpanelsource and cpanel support or seem to have no idea what exactly is happening, not to mention it doesn't help that after 15 or so minutes SSH dies.

    If we service sshd status or restart they all say the services are fully operational...

    Does anybody have any ideas and/or had these issues before?

    We currently use 6 of these services all with cPanel installed and never had these issues before, you help and advise is very much appreciated!!!


    cPanel Ticket Number: 1187529
     
  2. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Did you check whether any rules in IPTABLES causing these issue? Are you able to ping the server IP when the issue occurs?
     
  3. 247hostingnz

    247hostingnz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    IPtables is disabled and no we can not ping the server once the issue occurs.
     
  4. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Did you check on the trace route results? It will be easy to diagnose the issue if a trace route is provided.
     
  5. 247hostingnz

    247hostingnz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Sorry having a dull moment, how can we do that
     
  6. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It is okay! Cheers!

    Linux :

    traceroute IP

    Windows :

    Select Start > Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt. This will give you a window.

    Execute the command : tracert IP

    Do this when the issue occurs and provide the results.
     
  7. 247hostingnz

    247hostingnz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Here are the results:

    *****
     
    #7 247hostingnz, Feb 1, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2011
  8. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    From the trace route results it seems it is getting disconnected in between DC. You need to confirm this with DC. Please post these results to your DC. If this is not their range it is obvious that the issue is with ISP. You need to contact them.

    Note : Please edit and delete the trace route results.
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can your datacenter put up a screen on the server when this happens? They should be able to troubleshoot it better from there to see what's going on, since they can physically access the machine.

    Also, are you certain there isn't some service like cPHulk Brute Force Protection locking you out of the machine due to someone hitting root login excessively? I know you said it isn't accessible in SSH and that will block off access (it will let you connect but refuse login) once root user hits a set number of high failed logins. If you have cPHulk Brute Force Protection on, please shut it off on the next reboot in WHM > cPHulk Brute Force Protection (change to disabled), then see if the issue happens again. You should also be able to see the logs there if it is getting hammered by failed login attempts for root user.
     
Loading...

Share This Page