The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't Access Website Over 3G, 4G, or LTE

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ictsolutionsllc, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. ictsolutionsllc

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    WIchita, KS
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi! I have a website that I've setup within the past couple of months that is not accessible over 3G, 4G, or LTE. If you are connected to your home internet or internet at a place, you can access the website just fine. Otherwise, it sends you to the cpanel misconfiguration page. For example, I can be on my phone connected to my home internet over wifi, load my website, then turn off wifi and then try to access the website and I get the cpanel misconfiguration page. I've looked all over whm and cpanel to find a solution to the problem. I've googled continuously. I've updated things. I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out this issue, but I can't find any solution. Anybody ever have this happen? Does anybody know of a solution?

    I am all out of ideas. My ears are open to any suggestions.

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Try pinging the domain name from the mobile connection to verify if it resolves to the correct IP address. It's possible there's an issue with the name servers assigned to the domain name, or some firewall rule that's blocking or redirecting mobile traffic.

    Thank you.
     
  3. ictsolutionsllc

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    WIchita, KS
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I can ping the site and it resolves to the right IP address. How would I tell if it is the name servers or a firewall rule? What ports need to be open on the firewall?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    To clarify, you can do this when connecting from a mobile provider?

    Thank you.
     
  5. ictsolutionsllc

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    WIchita, KS
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Correct. I turned off wifi and made sure I was connected via LTE.
     
  6. razrdj

    razrdj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is the address? I can test it on LTE connection.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It seems like an issue with DNS or browser cache. Is it only happening for a single website? Are you able to reproduce the issue if you upload a test HTML page and load it directly?

    Thank you.
     
  8. ictsolutionsllc

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    WIchita, KS
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I upload a static html page, that page loads correctly. Then if I go to the home page (it's a wordpress site), I get the cpanel misconfiguration page. So static pages work fine, but wordpress pages don't.
     
    #8 ictsolutionsllc, Dec 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2015
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This suggests you have rules in the /home/$username/public_html/.htaccess file that are redirecting connections from mobile providers. Are you using any custom Mod_Rewrite rules in this file, or do you have any custom WordPress plugins installed?

    Thank you.
     
  10. ictsolutionsllc

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    WIchita, KS
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have disabled any possible plugin that could change the htaccess file and reset the htaccess file. The cpanel misconfiguration page is gone but now I get a blue 404 Not Found page with apache and openssl information on the bottom. The test.html page gets that as well. The site is still working fine on a non-mobile connection though.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  12. ictsolutionsllc

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    WIchita, KS
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've opened a support ticket. Ticket number is

    7411953
     
    #12 ictsolutionsllc, Dec 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, this issue was caused by a mismatch between the IPv6 address configured for the domain name in the DNS records and the IPv6 address configured for the domain name in the Apache configuration file.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page