The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't access websites

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dale S, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. Dale S

    Dale S Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I thought I had seen a thread discussing this before but now I can't find it so please forgive me if I'm repeating something.

    We just set up a new server and set it to use ns3.ourdomain.net and ns4.ourdomain.net. We already have a server using ns1 and ns2. We can access the default page using http://ns3.ourdomain.net or http://ns4.ourdomain.net. We can also access it using the IP addresses.

    We then set up two accounts on the server. We can't access those accounts. We can if we enter the IP address followed by ~accountname but we can't access it any other way.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. pacificw

    pacificw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    check your named.conf file, checking the internal view. I had the same issue just the other day. took me 3 days and still couldn't find the issue. then again, when you're dead tired, looking for an error isn't the best thing to do :P anyhow, someone here was a Godsend and fixed it for me..
     
  3. Dale S

    Dale S Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have been looking at the named.conf file. It appears everything we need is there but we are probably missing something. What, spicifically, showld we be looking for. You mentioned somebody had helped you. It there a thread I can look at. I haven't found one.
     
  4. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    If you still have trouble, post the top part of your named.conf.
     
  5. Voltar

    Voltar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bakersfield, California
    It does sound like a bind issue. Have you ran a DNSReport query on your newly setup domains? You may have lame nameservers, which THIS topic should help fix if it's the case.

    If that doesn't help, what OS?
     
Loading...

Share This Page