The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant access WHM - resolver setup error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by beekeeper, Sep 20, 2003.

  1. beekeeper

    beekeeper Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Since a recent automatic update we have been unable to access the WHM interface.

    The WHM homepage is redirecting to a page advising that resolver.conf is setup incorrectly. Whether we enter values or not this script just goes around in loops and so we cant access the main WHM area.

    We have shell access and restarting httpd has not helped.

    A httpd configtest returned the following:

    PHP Warning: Unknown(): imap: Unable to initialize module
    Module compiled with module API=20010901, debug=0, thread-safety=0
    PHP compiled with module API=20020429, debug=0, thread-safety=0
    These options need to match
    in Unknown on line 0
    PHP Warning: Unknown(): ldap: Unable to initialize module
    Module compiled with module API=20010901, debug=0, thread-safety=0
    PHP compiled with module API=20020429, debug=0, thread-safety=0
    These options need to match
    in Unknown on line 0
    Syntax OK


    Any help would be appreciated?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Those errors are php warnings that have nothing to do with WHM. What do you have in /etc/resolv.conf?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. beekeeper

    beekeeper Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Re: Re: Cant access WHM - resolver setup error

    domain mydomain.com
    search mydomain.com
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 216.12.200.xxx
    nameserver 216.12.200.xxx

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Re: Re: Re: Cant access WHM - resolver setup error

    Hmm. That's the correct setup. You don't actually need the localhost entry, but it won't hurt anything.

    Try
    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/reswhostmgr

    If that doesn't help, the only thing I can think of is a graceful reboot. That fixed a WHM problem I had one time...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. beekeeper

    beekeeper Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Cant access WHM - resolver setup error

    Thanx for the suggestions but these 3 have not fixed the problem.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Final-Solution

    Final-Solution Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had this same problem . . I put in my nameservers and clicked continue but it just kept giving me the same message that i need to enter my nameservers :/

    so i tried /scripts/updatenow & /scripts/reswhostmgr and now WHM wont even load :/ i get a 'cannot find server' error, but cpanel works just peachy . .


    any ideas? my server has some kernel issues so it has to be rebooted by a tech unless i wanna drive an hour away and do it, so a reboot is the last chance, is there any other way to restart WHM?

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, try this. Since you are getting php errors, recompile apache and select option 5 when it asks (its script /scripts/easyapache), then do the /scripts/upcp, and it should resync whm/cpanel with the useraccounts and data, and pair it with apache. That should help.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Re: Re: Cant access WHM - resolver setup error

    Try changing to:

    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 216.12.200.xxx << this would be the Hostname IP address.

    You also might want to verify your licencse is good:

    http://layer1.cpanel.net/verify/

    Enter the Hostname IP address.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page