The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't access WHM

Discussion in 'Security' started by SBNDawg, May 29, 2009.

  1. SBNDawg

    SBNDawg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Last nite in Tweak Settings. Under Security, I checked the boxes for referrers. Not when attempting to access WHM I get a web page that says :

    Access Denied,

    Functions in cPanel / WHM are available only directly through the cPanel and WHM interfaces or through our XML API. It appears that this request is coming from a referring site and might be malicious. Administrator Note: If new ips were recently bound to this server manually you must restart cpsrvd.
    Request Info:

    Requested page: /
    Referring site:
    Form Data:
    Key Value

    If you wish to continue to this page, you may do so but please note that allowing other sites to tell you which actions to perform in cPanel / WHM could be a security risk. Continue at Your Own Risk!

    Two buttons -
    One says Click here to authorize this request the other says Click here to return to main screen.

    I can not get to WHM to uncheck what I did last nite. I'm reasonably comfortable at the cmd line and I also use winscp.

    Is there a way I can manually undo this, get around it, over ride it??

    BTW, I can get into cpanel. Just not WHM.

    Kind Regards,
    -Roger
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,469
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Did you try clicking "Click here to authorize this request" to allow the browser open the page? You might try using another browser and see what happens, too.
     
  3. SBNDawg

    SBNDawg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, I did to no avail. I finally contacted the datacenter tech support and they fixed the problem. I do believe I just needed to try another browser/clear cache on current one.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. john.ciacia

    john.ciacia Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm getting this error as well. Also, all the templates appear to be broken (see attachment).

    P.S I tried different browsers and cleared my cache.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try running /scripts/upcp --force from the command line. That often fixes the issue of broken themes or missing theme files.
     
  6. cokequai

    cokequai Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chile, Santiago.
    i try running /scripts/upcp --force but i have still the same problem!! someone to help me? thanks!!
     
  7. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    localhost
    Did you tried changing the cPanel theme for the account ? Try changing the cPanel theme once and check if that helps ..
     
  8. cokequai

    cokequai Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chile, Santiago.
    cpanel is ok, whm is the problem.
     
  9. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    localhost
    you can even check the WHM theme..
    one more thing.. as per the snapshot it shows 4 errors at the bottom of the page.. not sure as to what they are (if this could shed some light on your issue).
     
  10. dileep_sl

    dileep_sl Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I fixed it:

    This error occurs when you have turned on the XSRF protection engine.

    You can login to WHM by clicking "click here to return to main screen".

    Than you can disable it in tweak setting by unchecking:

    Only permit cpanel/whm/webmail to execute functions that have a referrer that matches one of the domains/ip on this server.

    try this :)
    Cheers...
    Dileep
     
    #10 dileep_sl, Jun 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page