The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cant add addon domains without FTP accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by I-Web, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. I-Web

    I-Web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We never add additional FTP accounts (been using WHM/cPanel for 4 years now). With addon domains, it used to complain that it couldnt create the FTP account and carry on, but now it wont. Ive had a good search through WHM to see if i can find a new setting or anything, and stumbled accross alot of interesting stuff... but nothing to do with this.

    Now when i add an addon domain i get the following message

    Anyone know how i can set this back to how it was?
     
  2. adept2003

    adept2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ~ "/(extra|special)/data"
    I'd suspect that was actually a bug!
     
  3. I-Web

    I-Web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So your suggesting a method that was in place, for over 3 years, was actually a bug?

    I would rather that bug came back! We dont offer additional FTP accounts, we find thats when our services start getting used for file exchanging etc!
     
  4. markfrompf

    markfrompf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Maybe adept2003 is saying that cPanel currently has a bug...
     
  5. I-Web

    I-Web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It just appears from the way he is saying it, that the bug was the fact that it would carry on without creating the FTP account.

    Does anyone know how i can get an official answer from cPanel? I dont really want to submit a support ticket, just a query... or would that be best done in a ticket anyway?
     
  6. adept2003

    adept2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ~ "/(extra|special)/data"
    I think the way addons work, they've always involved creating a new ftp user. If it let you create an addon in the past despite having already reached the maximum number of ftp users, then it was probably a bug. There have been known issues in the past with addon domains not obeying quota/email/ftp rules (search bugzilla).
     
Loading...

Share This Page