The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cant add IP's at root!? what the

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stubert, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. stubert

    stubert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys, I setup my first dedicated server with centos 5. I have then installed hyper.vm and created a openvz vps. inside that vps i then installed cpanel/whm.

    I have never had this issue before when using VPS's.

    When i go into WHM logged in as root and select add ip's to add some ips from what my service provider gave me on the same range i get this error:

    To add, edit, or remove IPs, please contact your server administrator.

    i have created another account with FULL access to everything and still the same error. Wierd. Any ideas?
     
  2. stubert

    stubert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    its ok i fixed it. anyone looking how to fix this:

    Open up SSH login as root:
    Use command:

    # nano /etc/ips

    then add to that file the ips, subnet and gateway.

    restart cpanel, dont forget to add the IP's to the VPS first before this!
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. b16b18

    b16b18 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I don't see an /etc/vz directory so I'm trying /etc/ips. This file is blank by default correct? And will only contain additional ips? Is the format for this file IP:Subnet(Netmask):gateway ?

    also, not sure what this means
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The instructions Tristan referenced are intended for use when you are logged into the VPS node itself, not the individual VPS.

    Yes, that's the correct format. The file is typically empty by default on VPS machines. You would add just the new IP addresses, and restart "ipaliases" afterward:

    Code:
    # service ipaliases restart
    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page