The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't change any passwords via cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Freeze, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. Freeze

    Freeze Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    For some reason i can't change any password via cPanel, such as MySQL, FTP and my password to cPanel.
    I get this error every time:

    "There was an error manipulating the password file. This generally means you entered your old password incorrectly."

    Even tho i'm 100% sure i'm entering the right current password, and i'm typing the new password right.

    How do i fix this?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Can you change a password from WHM?
     
  3. Freeze

    Freeze Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /etc/passwd is 644.

    I can't find /usr/bin/passwd? What do i do if i don't have one?
     
    #3 Freeze, Dec 25, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
  4. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    1- Copy it over from /bin as there is an identical copy of this binary in /bin.

    If it's not there, you can proceed with the next options.

    2- Backup your /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow and other vital files just in case, although they belong to a different RPM.

    3- Copy the binary over from a matching server or download and force install 'passwd' rpm.

    Check which version is installed.

    rpm -qa |grep -i passwd

    Here is the sample output.

    Code:
    root@cpanel [~]# rpm -qa |grep -i passwd
    pam_passwdqc-1.0.2-1.2.2
    pam_passwdqc-1.0.2-1.2.2
    passwd-0.73-1
    
    You can download the passwd rpm version for your OS and architecture (32 or 64bit) and force install it.

    Code:
    rpm -ivh --force passwd-0.73-xxxx.rpm
    
    Not to mention, you need to investigate how this file got deleted and proceed with the above at your own risk.

     
    #4 JawadArshad, Dec 26, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2010
  5. Freeze

    Freeze Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My host haven't enabled shell and i can't even find a bin folder in file manager.
     
    #5 Freeze, Dec 26, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2010
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You'll need to speak with your host about this issue. That file is not accessible from your cPanel File Manager, it's a system file.
     
  7. Freeze

    Freeze Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where do i acces the file then?
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Via SSH, as root.
     
Loading...

Share This Page