Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Can't change ipv6

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by jonh, Mar 7, 2019.

Tags:
  1. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Took a snapshot of a droplet that has cpanel and all settings how I need them after initial setup. Created another droplet from the snapshot. Created all the DNS records/nameservers at registrar/dns provider then made sure the ipv4 was correct in the Basic WebHost Manager® Setup. Thats good, but the ipv6 has a red box around it and shows the ipv6 from the original server snapshot. I try to paste in the new ipv6 and get an error:

    Code:
    Basic WebHost Manager® Setup 
    Invalid Shared Virtual Host IPv6 Address value: “2455:B080:0800:00A1:0000:0000:00AC:F001” (The address is not bound to this server.). This setting will not be updated. 
    This system has 2 free IPs.
    Screen Shot 2019-03-07 at 10.07.45 PM.png

    I go to /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and put in the right iIP but basic web host manager still has red box but with right ipv6.

    If I go to "Assign IPv6 Address" I get error:

    Code:
    A fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive.
    [show] [close]
    
    The system could not find the <abbr title="Classless Inter-Domain Routing" class="initialism">CIDR</abbr> for the entered address: 2604:A880:0800:00A1:0000:0000:00AC:F001. at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/IPv6/Utils.pm line 694.
     at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/IPv6/Utils.pm line 694.
        Cpanel::IPv6::Utils::load_range_config() called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/IPv6/ApiSupport.pm line 563
        Cpanel::IPv6::ApiSupport::ipv6_range_list() called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2.pl line 8904
        main::enableipv6("enableipv6") called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Dispatch.pm line 259
        Whostmgr::Dispatch::_do_call("enableipv6", HASH(0x3aeb800), HASH(0x3af9bc8)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Dispatch.pm line 157
        Whostmgr::Dispatch::dispatch("enableipv6", 1, ARRAY(0x3af6098)) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2.pl line 1043
    Screen Shot 2019-03-07 at 10.13.18 PM.png
     
    #1 jonh, Mar 7, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 17, 2019
  2. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just trying to get basic configured server with cpanel setup (done), snapshot'd (done) so I can use it to make a new server with all the same settings but with different fqdn, ip's.
     
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,707
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @jonh

    It sounds like you might have conflicting IPv6 IP's on the system, ultimately it's best to make modifications to the IP's through the UI rather than manually. You can do this by going to WHM>>IP Functions>>IPv6 ranges

    We have the following guide detailing basic IPv6 troubleshooting steps which you may wish to review: Guide to IPv6 - Troubleshoot IPv6 Problems - Version 78 Documentation - cPanel Documentation You may also consider reaching out to your host / provider for assistance in properly configuring IPv6 on your server.

    Ultimately though you may want to discuss this with your provider or system administrator. If you don't have one you might find one here: System Administration Services | cPanel Forums .

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I removed the old droplet with this issue. Created a fresh droplet using the snapshot of a working droplet with cpanel and no accounts. Go to basic hostmanager and update the ipv4 to new ipv4, save, works fine. Do the same thing for the ipv6 and click save, get the error A fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive.
    [show] [close].

    Assign ipv6 ranges shows same error. Is this cpanel or digitalocean issue?
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,707
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    What's shown when you hit "show" for the error? The same error as previously or different?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same error, the IP in the error is the IP from the droplet the snapshot was created from. This error happens when I paste the new IP into the pv6 box in basic webhost manager. The ipv6 box has the red outline around it in the image above.:


    The system could not find the <abbr title="Classless Inter-Domain Routing" class="initialism">CIDR</abbr> for the entered address: 2554:a880:0800:00a1:0000:0000:15fc:8001. at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/IPv6/Utils.pm line 694.
    at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/IPv6/Utils.pm line 694.
    Cpanel::IPv6::Utils::load_range_config() called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/IPv6/Utils.pm line 809
    Cpanel::IPv6::Utils::range_overlaps_existing(Cpanel::CPAN::Net::IP=HASH(0x2cf1468), 0, undef, HASH(0x310b880)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/TweakSettings/Basic.pm line 91
    Whostmgr::TweakSettings::Basic::__ANON__(__CPANEL_HIDDEN__) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/TweakSettings.pm line 279
    Whostmgr::TweakSettings::process_input_values("Basic", HASH(0x1d0ae48)) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr.pl line 1660
    main::saveedits("saveedits") called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Dispatch.pm line 259
    Whostmgr::Dispatch::_do_call("saveedits", HASH(0x2ccf010), HASH(0x2cc8988)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Dispatch.pm line 157
    Whostmgr::Dispatch::dispatch("saveedits", 1, ARRAY(0x2cc3610), HASH(0x2cc8988)) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr.pl line 464
     
  7. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I see this error on the ipv6 address ranges page. The IP is also the ip from the droplet snapshot, not new droplet.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,707
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @jonh

    Can you please open a ticket using the link in my signature? Once open please reply with the Ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the resolution once the ticket is resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I started from scratch and used the transfer settings tool. You can close or delete this thread.
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,707
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @jonh

    Thanks for letting us know!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice