Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't Change NameServer Ip

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Joef, May 16, 2018.

  1. Joef

    Joef Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'm trying to change my Nameserver IP

    Home »Server Configuration »Basic WebHost Manager Setup

    When I click on "Configure Address Records" and try to change the ip under "Confirm the IPv4 address to create an A record" then click "Configure Address Records" in the popup it dosen't change.

    What I'm I doing wrong?

    Thank you
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Joef

    Can you confirm the DNS zone file for the nameserver is being modified accordingly? You can see these at WHM>>DNS Functions>>Edit DNS Zone

    It may take some time for the system to report the nameserver IP's due to propagation once they're changed.


    Thanks!
     
  3. Joef

    Joef Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    "Can you confirm the DNS zone file for the nameserver is being modified accordingly?"

    When i try to update the through "Configure Address Records" it gives this error in WHM>>DNS Functions>>Edit DNS Zone:

    There were errors in the zone which have been highlighted below. Please manually correct these errors before trying to edit the zone.

    2017010901 ; serial, todays date+todays no current owner name
    3600 ; refresh, seconds no current owner name
    7200 ; retry, seconds no current owner name
    1209600 ; expire, seconds no current owner name
    86400 ) ; minimum, seconds unbalanced parentheses
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Joef

    Can you run the following via CLI and let me know the output (please replace any actual IP's or domains)

    Code:
    head -10 /var/named/domain.tld.db
    Code:
    stat /var/named/domain.tld.db
     
  5. Joef

    Joef Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    "Can you run the following via CLI and let me know the output (please replace any actual IP's or domains)"

    [root@server ~]# head -10 /var/named/domain.tld.db
    head: cannot open `/var/named/domain.tld.db' for reading: No such file or directory
     
  6. Joef

    Joef Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't have a domain.tld.db file but I have:

    ns1.mydomain.com.db
    ns1.mydomain.com.db
    server.mydomain.com.db
     
  7. Joef

    Joef Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's fixed. Looks it was automatically updated or something.

    Thank you
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    HI @Joef


    I'm glad to hear that. Please let us know if you encounter any further issues.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page