Can't change user account passwords in WHM

mally42

Registered
Sep 17, 2005
2
0
151
Hello,

Hoping someone has a quick fix for me. I am running WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.8.0-C13. One of my customer submitted a support ticket to me saying that they did not remember thier password. So I when into WHM and used the "Password Modification" option selected their account and changed the password. However it did not change. The customer cannot log into cpanel or ftp into their account with the password I have changed it to. I submitted a support ticket to my host about the problem and they informed me that it was a bug in the current release of cPanel and as of yet they do not have a fix for it.

Any ideas what I could do? I went so far as to back up the home directly and delete the account and restore the home directory. Still I cannot access the account with the userid and password I newly created. Any help would be apperciated!
 

forlinuxsupport

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
Dec 22, 2004
386
0
166
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
hi

I also now have this problem on 2 servers (running RELEASE).

If you look in the shadow file. it shows a * where the password used to be.
So it looks like cpanel is messing up the password creation step.

A work around is to set the password on the command line.
e.g. $passwd john
enter password twice

cheers
andy
 

ssteiner

Registered
Sep 23, 2005
1
0
151
Same problem

I am using WHM 10.6.0 and CPanel 100.8.0-R20.

Change password through WHM, can't log in at all with the new password.

Change from command line with passwd, no problems.

Newly created accounts can't log in with their setup password.

Very bad thing to be broken!!!

Steve
 

chirpy

Well-Known Member
Verifed Vendor
Jun 15, 2002
13,453
31
473
Go on, have a guess
Well, a bugzilla entry simply means it's there to be fixed. If you have an urgent issue you should also log a ticket through your cPanel license provider and reference that entry.
 

forlinuxsupport

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
Dec 22, 2004
386
0
166
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hi Chirpy

I cant see how logging a ticket would help. :confused:

On the main menu on the left hand side of cpanel. Choose Password modification and change the password for one of the users.

Now go to the shadow file and see there is now a * where the the users password used to be. The user can no longer log in.

The only workaround is to type "passwd Username" and set it properly. :eek:

cheers
Andy
 

chirpy

Well-Known Member
Verifed Vendor
Jun 15, 2002
13,453
31
473
Go on, have a guess
It would help because it will bring it to cPanel's attention more quickly. The issue may be particular to your and the other peoples server setup and the only way cPanel may be able to recreate the issue is by inspecting your server. The only way to do that is through a ticket.

As I said, if the issue is causing you problems and you consider it to be urgent, you should log a ticket. You're paying for cPanel support through your license purchase so use it. If you get your license through a 3rd party they are obliged to log the ticket for you with cPanel.
 

bi098_s

Registered
Oct 2, 2004
4
0
151
I am afraid the Cpanel's guys don't know that STABLE means STABLE... That is nonsense saying "if the system don't use MD5 for passwords" (see the bug report)... /etc/shadow passwords encrypt with MD5 by default...
 

bi098_s

Registered
Oct 2, 2004
4
0
151
chirpy said:
It would help because it will bring it to cPanel's attention more quickly. The issue may be particular to your and the other peoples server setup and the only way cPanel may be able to recreate the issue is by inspecting your server. The only way to do that is through a ticket.
Maybe the best way to do STABLE really STABLE first of all... So if there were not any cahnges on the server why it was broken by Cpanel?
 

Dhira

Member
Sep 16, 2005
5
0
151
My server has the EXACT same problem too and they opened a ticket with cpanel.

Any ETA on when this will be fixed?
 

Trevplus

Registered
Sep 20, 2005
1
0
151
Id it just me but this bug seams not te be fixed in the updated version? As i am still unable to change passwords or unsusped accounts.
 

chirpy

Well-Known Member
Verifed Vendor
Jun 15, 2002
13,453
31
473
Go on, have a guess
Since you don't say which version you've updated to, it's not possible to say. If you're running the latest release of the RELEASE tree and up it ought to be. If you are and it isn't fixed you should log a ticket with your cPanel license provider.
 

maethlin

Registered
Nov 27, 2005
2
0
151
please help

Can someone explain to a complete NEWB how to resolve this problem without having to resort to change people's passwords for them via command line? This is driving me insane and I can't figure out what I need to do to fix it. (upgrading cpanel is not an option until I can get my host to do that for me)