Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Can't create files or folders in one account

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by maestroc, Jul 14, 2018.

  1. maestroc

    maestroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    I've run into a problem that I can't figure out the cause of. I have a server with dozens of Joomla sites installed on it in various accounts. One account was working fine until yesterday when suddenly the system seems to be refusing to let the CMS create any files or folders.

    The folders and files in the account all check out with the proper permissions of 755 for folders and 644 for files.

    The owner:group is correct as well being set at username:username.

    To troubleshoot I logged in via cpanel as the account owner and tried to create folder, files, etc. and was able to do so with no problems.

    When I check in the Joomla PHP info panel it says that all of the folders are unwritable even though if I go in via SSH the files and folders all look like this (partial list):

    drwxr-xr-x 27 sawst sawst 4096 Jul 13 21:58 modules
    drwxr-xr-x 17 sawst sawst 4096 Jul 13 21:58 plugins
    -rw-r--r-- 1 sawst sawst 836 Jun 26 20:57 robots.txt.dist
    drwxr-xr-x 5 sawst sawst 4096 Jul 13 21:58 templates
    drwxr-xr-x 2 sawst sawst 4096 Jul 13 22:01 tmp
    -rw-r--r-- 1 sawst sawst 1690 Jun 26 20:57 web.config.txt


    If I try to install a new plugin it tells me that it can't create the folder. Joomla also can't create any files.

    Is there something else that would be preventing the CMS from creating files and folders?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @maestroc,

    The behavior you noted is generally an artifact of the PHP handler associated with the version of PHP assigned to the account. You can read more about this on the following document:

    PHP Handlers - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    Your forum's profile shows "Reseller Owner", suggesting you do not have root access to the server to change the PHP handler. With that in-mind, you can access cPanel for the affected account and then browse to Software >> MultiPHP Manager. Check to see if the domain name is using the same version of PHP that your other domain names use.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Might want to check disk space as well as inode usage(if the webhost uses this as a limitation as well).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice