The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't create SQL database

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Charles_cz, May 1, 2004.

1. Charles_cz

Charles_cz Registered

Hi everybody. I am new to cPanel. Anyway I try to create SQL database in cPanel folowing documentation.

cPanel confirms the action but no SQL database is created. I have tried few times but no database or username is created.

Eximstats failed is the only error. Does it have anything to do with my problem?

Can you please point to me how to fix this problem? I am sorry if that is simple problem but I am really new to this stuff and help would be very appreciated.

I did not install cPanel by myself. I have only account I would like to use.

Thank you Charles

2. mickalo

mickalo Well-Known Member

Make sure MySQL is up and running, which can be verified from the WHM or at the shell prompt to see if the MySQL client is running or not.

If you can't create the database through the mysql client from the command line, then possibly you or the account that's trying to create the database doesn't have the privileges to create database or isn't setup or allowed to access the MySQL.

But if eximstats is causing errors, it's possible that MySQL isn't running or failing... need to check the logs. :)

Mickalo

3. Charles_cz

Charles_cz Registered

Mysql (4.0.18-standard) is up, at least what cPanel X says.

Wouldn't I get error when trying to create DB thru cPanel X if I had no the privileges to create database?

It says DB name was created, but no DB is really created. The same thing is happening when I try to add user.

I thought that would be pretty simple to create MySQL DB and user. It doesn't look that way so far. :confused:

4. mickalo

mickalo Well-Known Member