The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant find Content

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shinemicheals, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. shinemicheals

    shinemicheals Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My website was built by a company ,it has been transfered to me after completion.I want to edit the site,you know place some links and do some other things, but i dont know where to start from.I have made a backup from cpanel but i cannot see any content to edit in the files.I can only see css, js & php files without the content.Where or how do I find the content of the website.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sounds like the site uses a database of some sort, but no way of telling without seeing the site itself. You might want to contact the company that created the site for you, or speak with your host about this.
     
  3. shinemicheals

    shinemicheals Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cannot see any content

    The site is , it has database but i am not worried about the database, i want to edit the pages
     
    #3 shinemicheals, Jul 27, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2010
  4. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    Some sites store the content in the database rather than in the files. This is why a database was mentioned.

    The best bet is to contact the company that built the site as Infopro suggested. They should know how you can edit the site.
     
  5. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The pages of most sites are dynamic, which means they're built on the fly from a database. If your site has pages that end in .htm or .html, THEN you might be able to edit pages directly like you're expecting.

    From looking at the URL you provided, it's a dynamic site. As has been mentioned, you'll have to contact the creators to either get the modifications done for you, or to get instructions on how to modify it yourself.
     
  6. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Solution

    Its better if you provide us exact URL which you would like to edit, so that we can provide you help in better way to resolve your issue.
     
  7. shinemicheals

    shinemicheals Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cannot see any content

    Thanks for your wonderful replies,This forum is the best.
    If the content is in the database how do I access it?Is it not possible to download the database from cpanel edit and then upload again ?
     
  8. Evolve

    Evolve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Try going here: fashiteksms.com/admin/login

    All i did was add a "/admin" to the end of your URL and it shows that you have an admin log in area.

    Did they supply you with user and pass? Don't post them here though!

    This looks like some sort of CMS (Content Management System). You'll likely have some way of editing pages if you get in there.
     
    #8 Evolve, Jul 28, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 28, 2010
  9. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    What I don't get is why not ask the company who did it for you? That would be a lot easier and they'd actually know (without guessing).
     
  10. shinemicheals

    shinemicheals Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cannot see any content

    Thanks again Evolve & Miraenda
     
    #10 shinemicheals, Jul 29, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page