The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get in to WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Specks, Apr 21, 2006.

  1. Specks

    Specks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My WHM seems to have gone awol. I go to my ip address and port 2086 and all that shows up is a prompt to download an octet stream. Has anyone run in to this before and know how to fix it?

    Thanks,

    Specks
     
  2. benball

    benball Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mine has gone AWOL too on 2 servers. same issue.


    I wonder if its the result of an update?

    Regards,

    Ben
     
  3. Specks

    Specks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Fixed

    I fixed my problem. I downloaded the file and looked in it and found that it had a problem with the cpanel.config in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config. Yours might be different. I suggest you look in the cpanel error log to see what is going on. If it's something like I had where the error said that there was a bad line in one of the config files then find out which one and open the file and see if two line breaks were appended to the bottom. Mine had that and I removed the the extra line break and I had my WHM back.

    Specks
     
  4. benball

    benball Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Specks,

    Both of my servers had 2 extra line breaks in the bottom of cpanel.config.

    I removed them and can now access WHM on both servers :)

    Both servers are now running 10.8.2-C38 - so it must be introduced during the upgrade to the latest CURRENT.


    Regards,

    Ben
     
  5. Blapto

    Blapto Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yup, same issue happened here:
    cPanel 10.8.2-C42
     
Loading...

Share This Page