The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get my security certificate to work. Help please!!

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Huusoku, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello cPanel Forums!

    I am a new member from sunny Comifornia :)

    I have spent nearly a month trying to configure my GoDaddy security certificate on my machine and gave up. I then contacted my host and they told me they would get it installed for me before New Years. Well, that didn't happen, and now it's been a dozen days since and they still can't figure it out or are unwilling to assist me :(

    This has been a LOOONG and bumpy road for me. I originally bought a GoDaddy certificate during the last week of Nov. and ran into dedicated IP problems (so I thought?). I was advised by my host that I should get a wild card cert, so I canceled my orig cert and ordered a wildcard one for just a couple doll-hairs more per year (GoDaddy hooked me up). I installed it myself and actually things seemed to be working fine until I tried accesses my new website (that I would late launch on New Years day) through HTTPS, which is a database driven website unlike my old static html site, and it was a no go.

    HTTPS:// would work for calling regular files such as .gif, .jpg, .txt, and .html. But as soon as I loaded my SQL forum software on my board. subdomain or my new Drupal SQL site on my www. main domain, it would crash and say something about incorrect keys or incorrectly configured, I forgot.

    You can see all the details from this over on another forum I originally seeked help at: http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=278427.0

    I then gave up and contacted my host who has yet to get it working for me.

    I am completely out of options. I've never worked with virtual hosts or httpd files, let alone apache.

    Can anyone help me out?

    Here is my site HTTP: http://www.marlincrawler.com
    and here it is HTTPS: https://www.marlincrawler.com

    BUT! as soon as you access a regular file, like an image, look, it works just fine over HTTPS: https://www.marlincrawler.com/favicon.gif

    So it will work with individual files, but as soon as I try to load anything connected to a database, it has a heart attack.

    Please, I have spent nearly two months with this. We need this to process orders over our website so we can get away from STUPID rip off and time wasting PayPal. PayPal was only a temp. solution with my new website, which, mentioned above, was launched 14 days ago. PayPal was only supposed to be a temp. fix because I was under the impression my host would get my httpd reconfigured a loooong time ago.

    May I upload my httpd config file? I've got root access to my server, that is no trouble, I've already downloaded the entire folder to my computer. If I copy & paste my HTTPD file here can someone simply look at it and correct it for me?? :)

    I have multiple subdomains, but I really only need my main www. site to work. I bought the wildcard certificate because I was told to do so. Yeah, monkey see monkey do huh LOL

    I GREATLY appreciate your help!! Thank you VERY MUCH FOR YOUR TIME!!!!!! :D :) :) :D
     
    #1 Huusoku, Jan 14, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2009
  2. Tina

    Tina Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I kinda just did a quick check and I do see that the cert is installed and working on the www sub domain. Have you checked the drupal installation and the security module that you can install for it? There is nothing in your post about that so I was thinking that you might take a look at this thread that I found:

    http://drupal.org/node/327805

    If drupal is anything like joomla or some of the other shopping carts that I am familiar with it does make sense that viewing those pages over ssl is failing while you can view unrelated files without a problem.

    P.S. you might want to post the details from the simplemachines link in your post. That link is unavailable without logging in...
     
  3. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tina,

    Thank you for your help. Sorry I did not know the simplemachines link required login as I am always logged in LOL. Don't worry too much about that link for now, it is more or less what I've discussed here with a couple of suggestions from some other users that did not solve anything.

    Regarding Drupal, Yes indeed I have installed the module known as Secure Pages, but in my admin section for this (/admin/settings/securepages), it has grayed out the option to enable itself on my website because it believes SSL is not installed properly. There is an option to load the same page using HTTPS, which is recommends to do if the "enable" option is grayed out, which of course results in an Internal Server Error page to load.

    My host kept telling me that it is a configuration issue relating to my virtual hosts.

    I will offer my httpd file, please stand by...
     
  4. Tina

    Tina Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    If you are using cpanel and whm to manage the server, and if you installed the certificate this way, I don't think that I would mess around with the httpd conf file... Just my opinion. :)

    I wouldn't be able to help by looking through it either. I don't have enought experience with it. I'm sure someone else here would be able to and I'd defer to them. Also, I'm not convinced that the issue is with httpd. From what you've explained so far I think drupal is getting in the way.

    Post the errors that drupal is showing you regarding the ssl configuration. That would give us more to work with.

    T
     
  5. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, I've become a bit wary of posting the contents of my httpd.conf file, so I will reserve this for later if needed.

    Well, Drupal itself is not giving me any errors. Here is the screen shot I get when I try to enable Secure Pages through Drupal:
    [​IMG]

    I believe this is a server error not a Drupal error.

    I get the same exact error if I try to access my php & SQL powered forum software through an HTTPS url:
    https://board.marlincrawler.com

    Additionally, I just discovered that loading a static file on a subdomain using HTTPS will actually throw the same 500 error, check this out:
    https://board.marlincrawler.com/turtle.jpg


    Now my host told me he was working on my httpd.conf file. I have about 10 different versions of this file including my original "backup" file (httpd.conf.original)

    I have not tried replacing and restarting Apache yet.

    Does cPanel or WHM have a utility to inspect and repair a httpd.conf file that has been tinkered with?
     
  6. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Question:

    If I simply rename my current httpd.conf and replace it with my backup original copy, and then restart Apache, I wonder what negative effect this might cause?

    Should I go into WHM and try to remove the certificate from my server and then try to install it all over again and see if that makes it work suddenly, maybe?

    Hmmmmm...........
     
  7. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here is a good straight forward question if someone could please help me with this:


    When installing a wild cart certificate (https://*.mydomain.com), am I supposed to use the same dedicated IP address that my domain name is using, or a different one?

    I have 3 dedicated IPs attached to my machine. I setup the cert. to use the same IP as my domain name.

    Please help!
    Mike
     
  8. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Also,


    Should the Owner be: nobody


    ?


    EDIT: Yup, cPanel wants me to use the user 'nobody' for security issues.
     
    #8 Huusoku, Jan 16, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  9. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok

    I tried a bunch of different combinations and still nothing is working.

    I've tried *.marlincrawler.com, marlincrawler.com, board.marlincrawler.com, *marlincrawler.com using each of my 3 IPs with each configuration while using the user root and also trying the user nobody.

    I keep getting...

    Code:
    Internal Server Error
    
    The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
    
    Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@board.marlincrawler.com and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.
    
    More information about this error may be available in the server error log.
    
    Additionally, a 500 Internal Server Error error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

    I'll keep this updated.
     
  10. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    TTT

    I have tried and tried and tried and tried and I cannot get anything to work no matter what configuration I try to install the certificate as, nothing is working


    Isn't there anyone out there who can help me? :( Going on 3 months with this problem....
     
  11. Wenters.com

    Wenters.com Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Possible solution?

    Hi Huusoku,

    I have a server with CentOS 4.7, Cpanel 11.24 and I have / had the same problem. December 4th I bought a SSL certificate via CPanel's built-in system for trustwave. Everything seemed to go well, except, just as in your case, PHP didn't work. After a few days I gave up on the problem. Thinking it was a problem with TYPO3 (CMS). Last week, I suddenly noticed that SSL was working. Hurray!

    So 2 days ago a customer asked me to install an SSL certificate for him, which I finished installing this morning. Guess what, no PHP.

    So something I had done in the last few weeks makes SSL run with PHP, than installing another SSL certificate undoes this????

    But what had I done, no clue.

    I tried ./upcp --force, no luck, Yum update, no luck. Cleanup DNS, no luck.

    Then it hit me. 2 weeks ago I had installed the Magento webshop system, and I needed extra PHP modules. So I ran the EasyApache application to install these modules.
    Just now, I ran it again, with "previously saved configuration", and, well, PHP with SSL works again, on both domains.

    CPanel, please fix this. Thanks


    PS. I use apache 2.0.something
     
    #11 Wenters.com, Jan 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  12. webtoaster

    webtoaster Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am with this guy.... FIX IT!

    I have had enough of this cr@p where cPanel wont install wildcard SSL certificates properly.

    Enough already....

    Don't you think that you could fix this buy now and IF it is actually fixed, how about some instructions on how to get it done correctly since I have found in other postings where cPanel has claimed to have the problem resolved.

    So is it fixed?

    If so, where are the instructions on it?

    I am about ready to go back to a manual server and talk bad about cPanel.

    Tom Olson
    Webtoaster
     
  13. Huusoku

    Huusoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for your replies guys, I am glad others share my anxiety.

    This problem is such a nuisance to us... My host provider is going out of his way to try to look into this problem and see if he can hack the virtual hosts and get it to work.

    :eek: IT HAS BEEN MORE THAN 80 DAYS OF WRESTLING WITH THIS!!!!!! :eek:


    Because my site is not secure I am using PayPal and it SUCKS!!! Pp is VERY slow, rips us off 3% on every transaction, takes FOUR DAYS to get the funds transferred to our bank, and refunds are a serious hassle!!

    We pay extra for a dedicated server. What is the point to pay extra when I can't get the basic features a website needs?

    Please help cPanel! Please!

    Mike :(
     
  14. elfling

    elfling Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Figured it

    So, with the help of the magento-check.php file. I found that this SSL issue for me to recieve a 500 Internal Error was caused by no mycrypt extension.

    Magento uses these exentsions to work, so it was a process of elimination to figure out which i was missing.

    curl extension
    gd extension
    dom extension
    hash extension
    iconv extension
    mcrypt extension
    pcre extension
    pdo extension
    pdo_mysql extension
    simplexml extension

    How i came to this conclusion.
    Basically, to test if the cert was working, i uploaded a .html file and accessed it via https, this soon led me to find that it was only .php
     
Loading...

Share This Page