The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get virtualhost settings to work

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gregsmid, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. gregsmid

    gregsmid Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hey all,

    A bit of background, my company offers web hosting on Windows servers using IIS. We've had a growing number of requests from our clients lately to offer a Linux based hosting option, so I've been looking into cPanel. I'm definitely a cPanel newbie although I do have some experience with Linux and Apache in general.

    I provisioned a new Linux server in our data center and used the CentOS Quick Install CD ISO to load the OS and cPanel. I went through the full installation guide, including disabling SELINUX and made it through the WHM setup wizard with no problems.

    Now I've created my first Account and its associated domain, but I'm having trouble getting the webpage to show up when I try and browse to it. I can tell that Apache is working and serving up the site alright.. browsing to /http://199.164.xxx.xxx/~gsmid/ (the account name) works just fine.

    However, I just get the default cPanel page if I try to go to /http://domain.net

    The httpd.conf file looks ok to me as well. cPanel generated what looks to me like all the right entries. I've attached the entire file for review.

    Does anyone see anything glaringly obvious?

    P.S. I know people would normally anonymize the actual site data but I'm just using an otherwise unused domain for testing. The server is not in production yet, and I can blow the whole thing away at any time anyway. Less overhead work for me this way when posting logs, config files, etc. :P
     
    #1 gregsmid, Sep 30, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 1, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please check to ensure the domain name resolves to the same IP address assigned to the account. If it does, let us know if rebuilding the Apache configuration file helps:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    Thank you.
     
  3. gregsmid

    gregsmid Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Michael, thanks for having a look for me!

    I can confirm that the domain name does resolve to the same IP address assigned to the account. Running the rebuildhttpdconf script did not help.

    Any other ideas?

    Greg
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try clearing the browser and DNS cache on your workstation to see if that makes a difference. Does using the www-prefix make a difference?

    Thank you.
     
  5. gregsmid

    gregsmid Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No luck I'm afraid. I've tried different browsers on different computers, even at different locations. They all show the same default cPanel page.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. gregsmid

    gregsmid Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks Michael, I've opened ticket 5526895.

    Greg
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, it looks like this was the result of NAT settings on the server. The user was advised to ensure the private IP is mapped to the correct address.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page