The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't install or erase an .rpm package

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by monkey64, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. monkey64

    monkey64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm running CENTOS 5.7 and tried to manually install an rpm package using:

    Code:
    rpm -ivh dragondisk-0.9.6-1.i686.rpm
    
    The install appeared to hang.
    Logging into WHM and viewing the "Install a RPM" list showed dragondisk on the list with (re-install) written next to it. So I therefore thought it had installed correctly.

    However, running this command:

    Code:
    rpm -q dragondisk-0.9.6-1.i686.rpm
    
    gives me "package dragondisk-0.9.6-1.i686.rpm is not installed"

    Which one is correct?
    I either want to successfully install this package or completely remove it but I seem to be stuck in the middle.

    I have since found out that installing rpm packages from Jared at CPanel is not a good idea because it can cause all sorts of problems when running Easy Apache. What should I do?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How about trying this command:

    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep -i dragondisk
    Maybe you have an older version of dragondisk installed and that's why it isn't picking it up on the prior search you performed.

    As for the installation, how about checking if you still have the rpm install trying to run and that's why it is hanging:

    Code:
    ps aux | grep rpm
     
  3. monkey64

    monkey64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Tristan

    Thanks for the reply.
    I have gone down a slightly different route...
    Managed an erase the rpm by using the following:

    Code:
    rpm -e dragondisk-0.9.6-1.i686
    
     
  4. faisikhan

    faisikhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Islamabad, Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi monkey64,

    So you have correctly installed the package again or still facing the same problem as above? I hope you have also checked the architecture of your server using uname -a & the release installed with cat /etc/redhat-release before downloading the accurate package.
     
  5. monkey64

    monkey64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I usually look in WHM > Server Status > Server Information.
    Running CentOS which I believe is a community based OS based on the Red Hat flavour of Linux.
    I definitely got the right package...
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm glad that worked, but you would have been better off running the commands I indicated before doing so in order for us to find out which dragondisk version you were already running. Now, we won't know what was happening. It's obvious a different version was installed or else you couldn't have erased it using rpm -e
     
Loading...

Share This Page