Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Can't kill running easyapache process.

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Jesse Smith, Dec 15, 2013.

  1. Jesse Smith

    Jesse Smith Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    After trying to upgrade mySQL, I always get
    Code:
    WARNING: A running easyapache process was detected. Please wait for easyapache to finish before attempting to upgrade MySQL.
    
    If you are certain that the easyapache is no longer running, you may restart the MySQL upgrade by clicking the following button.
    
    php and mySQL doesn't work now, and the 'Ignore Current Upgrade' button doesn't work, so in SSH I run....
    Code:
    -bash-3.2# ps aux | grep easyapache
    root     29374  0.0  0.1   7216   832 pts/0    S+   22:23   0:00 grep easyapache
    -bash-3.2# kill 29374
    -bash: kill: (29374) - No such process
    -bash-3.2# ps aux | grep easyapache
    root     29393  0.0  0.1   7216   832 pts/0    S+   22:23   0:00 grep easyapache
    -bash-3.2# kill 29393
    -bash: kill: (29393) - No such process
    
    The process number just keeps changing so I can't kill it and upgrade mySQL.
     
  2. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    93
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Greetings,

    The process you are trying to kill is only your grep command. It won't ever find that. Please open a support ticket using the link in my signature below. We will log on to your server and investigate this problem and help you get it fixed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    You can check to see if the following file exists:

    Code:
    /usr/local/apache/AN_EASYAPACHE_BUILD_IS_CURRENTLY_RUNNING
    If this file exists, and there are no active EasyApache processes, then you may need to manually remove the above file and run EasyApache again.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Jesse Smith

    Jesse Smith Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks

    -bash-3.2# cd /usr/local/apache/
    -bash-3.2# pico AN_EASYAPACHE_BUILD_IS_CURRENTLY_RUNNING
    -bash-3.2# rm AN_EASYAPACHE_BUILD_IS_CURRENTLY_RUNNING

    did it. Then I re-installed 5.1 and it went all the way through with no trouble.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice