Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Can't locate install/LegacyBackups.pm in @INC

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by David Colter, Jun 23, 2019.

  1. David Colter

    David Colter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Starting on May 30th, which coincides with the first day after 11.78.0.24 was upgraded to 11.80.0.9, the Cron Daemon has sent this message as it's running /scripts/cpbackup:

    Can't locate install/LegacyBackups.pm in @INC (you may need to install the install::LegacyBackups module) (@INC contains: /usr/local/cpanel /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/528/lib/perl5/cpanel_lib/x86_64-linux-64int /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/528/lib/perl5/cpanel_lib /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/528/lib/perl5/5.28.0/x86_64-linux-64int /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/528/lib/perl5/5.28.0 /opt/cpanel/perl5/528/site_lib/x86_64-linux-64int /opt/cpanel/perl5/528/site_lib) at /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup line 38.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup line 38.

    I followed CpanelMichael's advice found in a thread with similar subject - run /scripts/upcp and then try rebuilding the RPM database. Following those, /scripts/cpbackup yielded the same result (above).

    What is the solution to this?

    As an aside, Home » Backup » Backup Configuration is set to run backups - saving a few days worth on locally and remotely. Why do I need "this other" backup that is currently failing?
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,459
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Can you please open a ticket using the link in my signature? Once open please reply with the Ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the resolution once the ticket is resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same problem, what is the solution?

    OK, is this the issue;

    line 46, use install::LegacyBackups ();
     
    #3 Wabun, Jun 26, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,459
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    A ticket for this issue has not yet been opened that I am aware of, if you're experiencing an issue with this I'd encourage you to please open a ticket with us and update here with the ticket ID once it's open.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nah, I am tired of tickets, every time new update new problems, aren't you guy even testing ?
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,459
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Our QA team works diligently to test as thoroughly as possible, unfortunately, there are sometimes occurrences such as this one where the issue cannot be accounted for, in this case these are literally the only two reports of this occurring that I can find.

    While I believe that removing the /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup cron job will resolve the issue temporarily, it will not be a permanent fix. We did remove the legacy backup module but understanding why it's occurring on these two systems is paramount to actually resolving the issue in the long run and for any others that may be affected.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We use the legacy backup system as I have reported why: FTP can't cope with this newest method, because when using the legacy backup wait till the backup is moved to ftp server, the new method is going on and on and fills the server disk. But you never listen to your customers, hence we are fed up to fill tickets and are looking to move away from cpanel.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,528
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    The following case was included with cPanel & WHM version 80:

    Implemented case CPANEL-25650: Remove one time migration script install::LegacyBackups.

    With this change, we removed support for the legacy backups one-time migration task from /scripts/cpbackup (this was used to populate the cPanel user file correctly for accounts restored/transferred from legacy cPanel & WHM versions).

    While legacy backups are in-fact deprecated, I was unable to reproduce this error message on a test server running cPanel & WHM version 80.0.20 after manually enabling legacy backups.

    @David Colter and @Wabun, are either of you able to confirm if the cpbackup cron failure notification reports continue on cPanel & WHM version 80.0.18 or 80.0.20?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. kdub

    kdub Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    California
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have been receiving the reported error notification as well starting on 5/30/2019. Although it appears backups are functioning correctly but I haven't had time to verify. Currently running WHM v80.0.20 on CENTOS 6.10 kvm 2.6.32-754.12.1.el6.x86_64

    Daily compressed local backups, per account, w/ system files. Also backup to google drive.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,528
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @kdub,

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Do you mind submitting this report as a support ticket so we can better determine if an internal case is needed? You can post the ticket number here once it's opened and I'll link this thread to it.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. kdub

    kdub Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    California
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't have a cpanel customer account as whm is provided by my vps host. It's a waste of time to submit through them. If there's a way to submit directly to cpanel then please advise. Thanks.
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,528
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should be able to use this link. Use the Need an account? Create one here link on the login page to create your account. Let me know if this doesn't work.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. kdub

    kdub Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    California
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your Support Request ID is: 12751945
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,528
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks, I've added a note to the ticket and will update this thread with the outcome once it's closed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,528
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello Everyone,

    In ticket 12751945, we discovered that /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup and /scripts/cpbackup were excluded from updates due to their inclusion in the /etc/cpanelsync.exclude file:

    Code:
    # cat /etc/cpanelsync.exclude
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
    /scripts/cpbackup
    If you are experiencing this issue, execute the following command to verify if the /etc/cpanelsync.exclude file includes entries for the legacy backup scripts:

    Code:
    cat /etc/cpanelsync.exclude
    If you see entries for the "cpbackup" script; remove those lines, save the file, and update cPanel using the command below:

    Code:
    /scripts/upcp --force
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #15 cPanelMichael, Jul 3, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2019
  16. kdub

    kdub Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    California
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've cleared /etc/cpanelsync.exclude and run /scripts/upcp both manually and via nightly cron. I continue to receive the legacy notification. stat /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup indicated the script is not updating automatically. Perhaps this won't update until a new cpanel version is installed? Where can I find the current cpbackup script so I can manually replace?

    Also, wanted to mention that I have no idea how cpbackups was added to the exclude file. cPanel support has stated that this could only have been done by manual user entry. However, the cpanelsync.exclude modify/change timestamp aligns perfectly with a daily cron updating cpanel from 11.68.0.37 to 11.68.0.38 that ran 2018-05-03 1:43 UTC. Unfortunately, the /root/.bash_history file doesn't go back that far so I suppose I'll never know the root cause.

    Anyway, much thanks to cPanel support's lightening fast response to my ticket. Top notch support.
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,528
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @kdub,

    Try forcing a cPanel update using the command below:

    Code:
    /scripts/upcp --force
    If this doesn't replace the files, reply to the support ticket to let us know and we'll check to see why the file is not automatically replaced with the new version.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. kdub

    kdub Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    California
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    /scripts/upcp --force appears to have successfully updated cpbackup script and resolved the issue. Thanks for your help.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,528
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm glad to see that helped. Thanks for sharing the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice