The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't login after install

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tbdsamman, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. Tbdsamman

    Tbdsamman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello all, a few months I tried the trial for cPanel. After I installed it, and restarted, I couldn't login.

    I'm using Red Hat Linux 9.0 and when it got to the part where it said "localhost login" (not sure if thats it) but it was still in the text boot up, not the actual GUI. I had no idea what the problem was, and gave up for awhile. Well now I want to try, and don't want the same thing happening, so I was wondering if anyone has any idea what was wrong.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Etheral

    Etheral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try putting your Root user and Pass in when the localhost login prompt comes up. On redhat desktops, you always get the localhost option, most of the time it skips by it and straight to the GUI login.
     
  3. Tbdsamman

    Tbdsamman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Oh yeah I forgot, when it comes to that screen it prompts for the username and password but in about 2 seconds it goes blank and comes back up. I've tried entering it really fast but it didn't work. I even left it running for a night but nothing.
     
  4. Etheral

    Etheral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ehh... it sounds like its trying to boot up the GUI login, but fails and returns to terminal... then loops the proccess lol. hrmm, redhat 9 is... a bit old to my standerds, you can try downloading Fedora Core 2, its just like RedHat9, just some nice extras. and the 3 CD's (4th isant required) would take about 2 hours to download on a decent cable connection.]

    _______________________

    if your still having problems, send me a msg on aim or msn. (gotta love gaim lol)
     
  5. Tbdsamman

    Tbdsamman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Fedora Core 3 is out, should I use it instead of 2?
     
  6. Etheral

    Etheral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i personally dont like going to brand new software, core2 is stable and has been out for a while, and i dont know if cPanel is compadable with C3 yet?
     
  7. Tbdsamman

    Tbdsamman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, I'll try that.

    But if anyone has any idea about why its doing that and a possible solution, please post.
     
  8. Twiztid

    Twiztid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same Error

    I have the same problem. I am running centOS 3.4 and just successfully (or so I thought) installed cpanel. now it tries to do a graphical login, but fails. It says something about a font. not exactly sure, the screen moves away to fast.
    anyways, it took me forever to get everything running so smoothly on my server, and I would really hate to reinstall. if aanyone can help me, please post here, or IM me

    Twiztid
     
  9. Rvibes101

    Rvibes101 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    does not matter what u change the same thing will always happen.

    as stated above you are trying to boot to a gui (Gnome, KDE,) this is a huge security risk and also consumes cpu usage. When Cpanel installs it actually removes part of the x log in making it un-install.

    hence if you try to boot now that will happen. to fix this u need to do the following.

    1- use cd FC1 and re-boot

    2- Rescue Mode

    3- mount the chroot

    4-Then edit /etc/inittab

    - In this file there is a line id:NUM:initdefault

    change that to 3. ctrl+x , y= yes to save then {enter} to exit

    -after remove the disk and re-boot you should have no problems ..

    if you need more info i found great help at: http://faq.cpanel.net/search.cgi

    it states
     
  10. Twiztid

    Twiztid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    did as you stated, up to the point of mounting chroot. however, there is no etc/inittab

    maybe centos uses a different name?
     
  11. Twiztid

    Twiztid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    found what error it was giving tho:

    fatal error
    could not open default font 'fixed'
     
  12. Rvibes101

    Rvibes101 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorry i didnt post that correct, you have to mount your root file system.

    if u dont mount it with chroot then you wont have that file you need to edit...

    give me a second ill find out exacly what u need to do.

    ////////////////////////

    When you enter linux rescue you do not have your root environment.

    to do this you must:

    chroot /mnt/sysimage [enter]

    once you do this you will be able to edit this file.

    cheers
     
    #12 Rvibes101, Jan 18, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2005
  13. Twiztid

    Twiztid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok thanx that worked. I now log in "text" style. problem is I still cannot get into xwindows. does the same thing when I type startx and for some reason, Xconfigurator is not the configuration program. any clue what to do?

    Twiztid
     
  14. Twiztid

    Twiztid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    one more thing. this may be easier thru yahoo msn or aim:
    yahoo: towndrunk1974
    aim: towndrunk1974
    msn: uppp@juno.com

    if you have any of those, I run them constantly.
     
  15. Twiztid

    Twiztid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the problem Xwindows is having is this line:

    fontpath "unix/:7100"

    I have no clue what it means, or what to change it to. maybe I should discuss it with gnome?
     
  16. Twiztid

    Twiztid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Fixed!

    Ok I fixed the problems, and can now get into xwindows.

    Before I put what I did, I want to mention I have no idea what adverse effects this will have in the future, or if this was even a smart thing to do, but it worked.

    I did what whas posted before, about mounting chroot, etc.

    I edited inittab as described earlier. that fixed the first problem.

    then I edited /etc/X11/XF86Config
    and commented out these 2 lines:
    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath "unix/:7100"
    I am now in X windows, of course by typing startx.

    Thank you for all your help. now off to install mysql....

    Twiztid
     
  17. Tbdsamman

    Tbdsamman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So when its doing the text based login, its working?

     
  18. manimal

    manimal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Virginia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All I did was quickly type in
    root
    hit enter
    password
    hit enter
    and when I logged in I change my init to default to
    init 3

    I use redhat enterprise 3

    Hope it helps
     
Loading...

Share This Page