Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Can't login via FTP / Create new FTP users

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by davvve, Apr 10, 2003.

  1. davvve

    davvve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Europe
    I've got a little problem on one of my new cpanel servers. Users can't connect via FTP.
    It seems as it's impossible to create new FTP users through the CPanel interface too. I get this error when trying to add a FTP user:

    /David
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. davvve

    davvve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Europe
    I also get this when trying to switch from pureftp to proftp:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Europe
    I have submited Ticket about that problem 10 days ago and no one replied me yet !
     
  4. davvve

    davvve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Europe
    Submitted one yesterday... Last time it took about 4 days to get a reply I believe.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. NileWeb

    NileWeb Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi

    I had the same problem and I could solve it.

    just please tell me is this a new CPANEL installation or it is a loaded server?
     
  6. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    The same problem!!! I cannot login to my own account via FTP even if I change the password
    a) from root "passwd username"
    b) from Cpanel
    c) from WHM


    It should be fixed ASAP!
     
  7. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    SC
    Did anyone ever figure this out? It's doing it for me too.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. radwulf

    radwulf Registered

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Same here... changing the account password in CPanel will not change the ftp password.

    Also, I can't seem to be able to create new ftp accounts in CPanel.
     
  9. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Same here !!

    Support ticket not solved - about 7-8 weeks old !!

    Is everyone with this problem using FreeBSD ?
     
  10. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    SC
    This is on Linux for me.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    Same problem here on a new server. I think I will open a ticket.
     
  12. gfmorris

    gfmorris Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Anyone ever seen a resolution on this? I'm having this issue as well.

    GFM

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    SC
    No resolution to my knowledge.

    Drew

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    On my server Proftpd used the wrong config file.
    Seems there is 2 of them, don't know if this is/was
    a Freebds problem only but it's worth checking it out !?

    After it was changed to the correct config everything worked,
    I think, Cpanel fixed it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    SC
    Well I'm using pureftpd so perhaps that is the problem.

    Drew

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. gfmorris

    gfmorris Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Yes, I have ... and it tells me that it can't chown the group.

    GFM

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 15857
     
  17. ptez

    ptez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Oops, I got the same problem.

    No solution?
     
  18. mvital

    mvital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    i have the same problem for more than a week ... my clients r starting to be upset !! :(
     
  19. mvital

    mvital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    i try fix with Synchronize FTP accounts, dont worked !!!
     
  20. ptez

    ptez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I try to rebuild apahce (easyapache option 6), and it seems working?

    but after one day, my server apache got failed, and then I have to change apache setting back.

    Not quite sure whether this is the problem.

    No solutions?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice