SOLVED Can't ping the nameservers that I set up for WHM

Operating System & Version
CENTOS 7.9 kvm
cPanel & WHM Version
90.0.17

Steve Stifler

Registered
Nov 23, 2020
3
0
1
Italy
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
  • The nameservers are -> ns1.domain.cc & ns2.domain.cc
  • My WHM hostname is -> dpg.domain.cc
  • My server ip is -> 146.59.xxx.xxx
I correctly set up the nameservers on the registrar panel and on WHM too.
I waited 2 days for the propagation.
I see that my nameservers are propagating and that the dns zones too but the ping is very bad and not everybody can use them.

I checked my firewall multiple times and it's set correctly. I also checked every setting in the WHM and they are all set up correctly.

I can't find a way to make my nameservers work properly.
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
2,067
283
213
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hey there! Sorry to hear about the issues you're having with those nameservers. It sounds like things are working well at the registrar level, but there may be a problem on the WHM side. You'll want to make sure the main zone file for domain.com has both the A records for ns1 and ns2 as well as the two NS records for each nameserver. Those should look something like this:

ns1 14400 IN A 1.2.3.4
ns2 14400 IN A 1.2.3.4
domain.com. 86400 IN NS ns1.domain.com.
domain.com. 86400 IN NS ns2.domain.com

Can you make sure all four of those entries are in place?
 

Steve Stifler

Registered
Nov 23, 2020
3
0
1
Italy
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hey there! Sorry to hear about the issues you're having with those nameservers. It sounds like things are working well at the registrar level, but there may be a problem on the WHM side. You'll want to make sure the main zone file for domain.com has both the A records for ns1 and ns2 as well as the two NS records for each nameserver. Those should look something like this:

ns1 14400 IN A 1.2.3.4
ns2 14400 IN A 1.2.3.4
domain.com. 86400 IN NS ns1.domain.com.
domain.com. 86400 IN NS ns2.domain.com

Can you make sure all four of those entries are in place?
I just checked that, and the records are correctly set up.
The "bad ping" problem was just the firewall that didn't work as expected and we fixed that.

Now we can ping the nameservers but we noticed that the dns zones of all of the domains under our nameservers aren't correctly propagating.
As you can see from the image, the dns zones are propagated only in France (were our datacenter is).

We can't find a way to make the dns propagate properly.

Also, the main hostname that we use for WHM is under our nameservers. I live near the datacenter and I can access the WHM panel without any problems, but the rest of my team can't access it since they live in other countries.
 

Attachments

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
2,067
283
213
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
It's interesting that it would work for one location in France at all, as I wouldn't expect that to be the case if the records weren't properly set up, so it seems like they are. It might be worth speaking to the datacenter or hosting provider and showing them that screenshot so they can check things on their end to see why that isn't propagating. You can always open a ticket with us to so we can check the machine directly.
 

Steve Stifler

Registered
Nov 23, 2020
3
0
1
Italy
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
So, I asked the datacenter why my dns weren't propagating properly.
Basically, the OVH server plan that I paid for isn't configured to host nameservers. That's the problem.

So, before making your own nameservers, you should always ask the datacenter if the server you bought is capable of hosting them.
 

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
2,067
283
213
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
@Steve Stifler - I'm sorry you had to find that out the hard way. This happens more frequently than you would think, especially with the number of hosting providers that are now blocking outbound email traffic.

I'm glad you got to the root of the issue, though, so let us know if you need anything else!