The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can't ping updates.cpanel.net

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mattsoft, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. mattsoft

    mattsoft Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm in the process of setting up a locally hosted vps for my cpanel web server and moving it from a dedicated system. my current offsite server is working fine, but I can't ping updates.cpanel.net from anywhere on my local network. I'm using my isp's default dns server, but I've also tried opendns with the same results.
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    By using your ISPs default DNS server, you mean in relation to /etc/resolv.conf file? If not, can you try to put some good known public resolvers in there such as Google's?

    Code:
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    Alternatively, you might try Level 3's resolvers:

    Code:
    nameserver 4.2.2.1
    nameserver 4.2.2.2
    nameserver 4.2.2.3
     
  3. mattsoft

    mattsoft Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I could have been more clear what my setup is. I'm in testing phase using a cpanel test license. I'll give those nameservers a try, thanks.

    does cpanel have to be running directly on the wan ip? or can it run behind a router or on a dmz? once upon a time my isp used to give me 2 dynamic ip's and I could use them both by putting a simple hub between the cable modem and the router, then add the second device to the hub. I'm switching to a commercial cable internet next week which comes with 1 static ip which will be used for my brazil firewall linux router. not sure yet what the price is for a second static ip, or how I would set that up.

    I currently have a cable modem plugged into an ethernet port on my server which bridges straight into the wan of the linux router running on a virtual machine, then from there out to the rest of the server and the local network with a second ethernet port.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel requires a static public IP, so it cannot run on a dynamic IP that will change.
     
  5. mattsoft

    mattsoft Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'll have 1 static ip, but I want to run a router and cpanel on it. is there no way to set that up without getting a second static ip?

    I got updates.cpanel.net working. it's installing at the moment. I used googles nameservers. thanks.
     
  6. mattsoft

    mattsoft Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We don't support NAT-based setups at this point in time. We do have a feature request to support NAT setups, but right now, if you were to run into issues with using a NAT, we couldn't help with issues on the technical support desk for any tickets. As such, if you aren't familiar with using a NAT to the point you could easily get cPanel working using one, I would suggest using the traditional setup where you have a static public facing IP address.
     
Loading...

Share This Page