The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant recive mail via Outlook

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Musmand, Jul 24, 2005.

  1. Musmand

    Musmand Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    I have just got a new server and when it was up and running I treansfered some accounts from my old server... It went fine but now when I try to recive mail at my computer the following error happens.

    "The server for account "mintest" returned the error "Authentication failed (bad password?)" Your userneame/password or security settings may be incorrect. Would you like to re-entering your password"

    I have tryed diffrent things.. I have also compared my old server with the new one and I cant see any diffrencies...

    I should say that webmail runs like clockwork.

    Anyone????

    Regards
    Musmand
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    did u try reset the password at the new control panel ?
     
  3. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Check the permissions on /home/user-name/etc/passwd and shadow files....or just simply try suspending and then unsuspending the account it will reset all the permissions...
     
  4. Musmand

    Musmand Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried to suspend and unsuspend the account, but it still dosent work.
    And what is the right permissions of the passwd file??

    Can it be that even though the status of cppop is good it's not running??

    Regards
     
  5. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    the user and the group should be the username


    what abvout trying restarting the cpop
     
  6. Musmand

    Musmand Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried to restart cpppop from whm but using a terminal.

    Does anyone know how I do that... I plan to first stop then start cppop.
     
  7. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    killall -9 cppop

    Then you may use the script

    /scripts/restartsrv_cppop

    Are all the accounts having the issue. Then only there can be an issue with cppop. If it is with a particular account only
    then there might be some permission issues.
     
  8. Musmand

    Musmand Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It affects all the accounts. and I have restarted the pop server.... no effect.

    I just tried makeing an imap account in outlook. It works fine.

    Where can I find the cppop files and check the config???

    Regards
     
  9. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Try changing the password through Cpanel and then cehck email again. I had a problem when moving servers with that and I know that fixed it - and then I found rights/permissions/ownership were off but I cannot remember on what file(s). I figured it out by looking at the account before I changed the password and after I did. I know that's the hard way - but if no one else has any ideas....
     
  10. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    what i did this morning to fix it.. go to whm - tweak setting - uncheck box trapper.. all accounts start working again
     
  11. Musmand

    Musmand Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where is the box trapper???
     
  12. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    whm - tweak setting

    you can upgrade to current/edge version of cpanel to disable this as well.
     
  13. Musmand

    Musmand Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Maybe I blind, but I cant find it...

    under which praragraph should it be??
     
  14. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yeah you need to upgrade to current.. check this attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Musmand

    Musmand Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What version of whm/cpanel is that.. I dont have

    running whm 10.1.0 cpanel 10.2.0-R82
     
  16. Musmand

    Musmand Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have now tried to update WHM/cpanel to current version and unchecked Boxtrapper.

    I still have the same problem.

    I even tried to delete the account and make it again. Still the same problem

    Anyone??
     
  17. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    has the DNS propagated well ? another thing to try is to flush the iptables.

    also do a

    grep boxtraper /etc/exim.conf

    and veriy that boxtraper is fully removed.
     
  18. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    root@sv3 [~]# grep boxtraper /etc/exim.conf
    boxtraper_autowhitelist:
    virtual_boxtraper_user:

    Weird. I have boxtraper disabled in WHM. I can see those 2 blocks in /etc/exim.conf from SSH, but not in the Exim Editor in WHM. And these errors keep popping up in /var/log/exim_paniclog:

    Code:
    2005-08-07 18:53:51 failed to expand condition "${perl{checkbx_autowhitelist}{$authenticated_id}}" for boxtraper_autowhitelist router: Undefined subroutine &main::checkbx_autowhitelist called. 
    Any ideas?
     
  19. b0072k1

    b0072k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Hi i have the same problem non of my clients are reciving any emails using outlook or even web mail i also have done

    exim -bt name@domain.com

    and i get

    LOG: MAIN PANIC DIE
    failed to open /etc/userdomains for linear search: No such file or directory

    any ideas?
     
  20. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You need to restore that file from backup or recreate. It is sort of necessary for the server to know what domains are on it.
     
    #20 lloyd_tennison, Aug 10, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page