The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't Remove WHM in Cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by KiloHosting, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. KiloHosting

    KiloHosting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm trying to delete a nameserver from WHM, and when I click the big red X, it responds with...

    Removing Nameserver IP 64.27.18.149

    And that's it. There is no additional activity or progress like adding an account would give you a progress bar.

    How do I go about removing these nameservers manually since WHM can't seem to do the job.
     
  2. Ankur2gbhosting

    Ankur2gbhosting Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    If you are unable to do it from WHM then login to server shell as "root" user & edit the file /etc/nameserversips with following command:

    vi /etc/nameserverips

    edit this file after press the INSERT button

    for save it -> :wq + enter

    If it doesn't work that means file is in red only mode. try to remove read only mode with "chattr -i /etc/nameserverips " command then try the above process again.

    I hope it helps

    Regards
    System Administrator
    2gbhosting.com
    Cheap & reliable webshoting
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Are you wanting to change your nameservers?

    At the very top of WHM left menu, click Basic cPanel/WHM Setup. Scroll to bottom of that page to find your existing nameservers to edit.
     
  4. KiloHosting

    KiloHosting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Somewhat of a solution.

    It fixes the issue, but If I go to view the nameserver in WHM, it will repopulate it with the old information, so for now, I'm just not going to look at it so it will not revert the IP's and what not.

    Any fix for this if known?
     
  5. cannonballdex

    cannonballdex Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Removing nameserver

    I had this problem myself, after three days it was really bugging me.

    Solution: Disable whois lookup in cPanel (WHM > Tweak settings).

    Worked for me. Good Luck.
     
Loading...

Share This Page