Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Can't Restore Account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cjmwebdesigns, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Today my client crashed his website and asked for me to do a restore.

    Practice for me was to always remove the account and then do the restore with the database.

    The system continues to fail. It seems to believe the account exists on the system, but does not exist when I look for it.

    The restore failed because the username “newbed1” is invalid or not an existing cPanel user.
    Failed: Account Restore Failed: “Account failure: The restore failed because the username “acctname1” is invalid or not an existing cPanel user.”

    Little garbled from the copy and paste...

    Even when I attempt to restore from CP Full backup and click overwrite existing user it fails.

    How do I find where this username is hung on the server?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,436
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Nope, that is exactly how I am doing it. When I click Overwrite existing user it fails with the error above. If I restore without the checkbox it tells me that the account exists.

    Within my own support system I tried to create and it says users exists, tried to delete, says data cannot be found.

    I have no idea where WHM/cPanel sees this account name.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Please ensure you enter a valid username (all lowercase characters). Do you notice any additional output to /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log when attempting to create this user?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice