The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't see google.com

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by KennySim2K3, Dec 13, 2003.

  1. KennySim2K3

    KennySim2K3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This stupid site comes up when I try to access google. I've seen the solution in the FAQ but I don't know what to download and install or whatever.

    Can someone please tell me what to download or what to do step by step

    Thanks
     
  2. hot_wired13

    hot_wired13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    check your:
    c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file.

    remove everything except the localhost 127.0.0.1 line

    regards,
    kelvin
     
  3. KennySim2K3

    KennySim2K3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There isn't anything else but that line there :confused:
     
  4. hot_wired13

    hot_wired13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    then either...
    1. ur computer's being spywared
    2. remove that stupid search bar

    its 99.9% some stupid program causing this
     
  5. KennySim2K3

    KennySim2K3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I get rid of spyware and this stupid cPanel site?

    I don't have any stupid search bars :confused:



    One other thing is i'm on a LAN with 2 computers using ICS. This comp is a client. Is it possible that the other computer has all this on and affects this comp as well?
     
  6. hot_wired13

    hot_wired13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    very possible that the gateway box is the one causing this. check the hosts file on the gateway box
     
  7. KennySim2K3

    KennySim2K3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tried everything, even removed it on the main computer but still getting the same problem :mad:

    What should I do now?
     
  8. hot_wired13

    hot_wired13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    check if the gateway box is infected
     
  9. Joshfrom

    Joshfrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    White Haven, PA, US
    If you were brought here by a search engine...

    If you were brought to this site inadvertently because you were trying to use a search engine, you may be infected with a virus that is affecting Windows machines and forwarding them to a server that was removed and replaced with a blank cPanel server. For more information on this virus including methods of removal please visit one of the following sites:

    http://www.microsoft.com/security/security_bulletins/ms03-040.asp
    http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_100719.htm
    http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/trojan.qhosts.html
    http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/virusencyclo/default5.asp?VName=TROJ_QHOSTS.A
    http://www.sophos.com/virusinfo/analyses/trojqhosts1.html


    Please check these sites before calling our offices as our attendants cannot provide any more information than is provided above. Thank you for your patience in this matter.
    This notice last updated 8 October 2003.
     
  10. KennySim2K3

    KennySim2K3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Obviously I've already seen that info you just posted. Nothing there has helped me at all.

    That microsoft site told me to go to scan for updates then install them but doesn't detect any updates at all and the rest are just information that isn't useful.

    I need more help than that please.

    Sorry if I sound pissed off but you would be if u couldn't use computers vwery well and had this virus.
     
  11. KennySim2K3

    KennySim2K3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm sorry if I offended anyone, I'm immature, thoughtless and pretty ignorant to boot.
     
Loading...

Share This Page