The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't seem to modify an account.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gkgcpanel, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm in WHM and clicked on Modify an Account, selected the account I wanted to modify and changed the user name. Something I have done many times and it has never failed until now :)

    This time, I get a pop up box that says "Error! Account Not Modified"

    The log file is also no help. In /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log it merely says:

    [2012-02-17 15:06:20 -0600] info [xml-api] Account Not Modified [modifyacct] version [1].

    So, why suddenly am I not allowed to change the user name??

    Anyone else having this issue?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What version of cPanel? I just tried this and was able to change a username successfully.
     
  3. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks...

    version: WHM 11.30.6 (build 3)
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Can you post the URL you're using to access WHM? (edit the domain to hide personal details of course) Looking at the changelog there is a mention of Modify Account not working via proxy access but that fix was added last year.
    Fixed case 51677: Modify Account does not work via proxy access
    (edit: looking closer at this case I doubt related)

    Browser issue possibly?
     
  5. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  7. rahulkshinde

    rahulkshinde Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We are on WHM 11.30.6 (build 7) and still facing the same issue to modify account. may I know if this has been fixed yet ?
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Since the ticket number was not provided and we cannot be certain what caused the issue, the best course of action would be to open up a ticket with us in WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel (or using the link in my signature) and post the ticket number here. This would allow us to investigate the issue and then ensure we can follow up to track the resolution via the forums (so the next member doesn't also wonder how the issue was fixed).

    Of note, you may try increasing WHM > Server Configuration > Tweak Settings > Max cPanel Process Memory to 512 MB if it isn't already that high or higher. One possible ticket that reported this error around the time of this forum thread is ticket 2324141, which was resolved by increasing the cpsrvd process maximum allowed for memory.

    Thanks!
     
  9. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks Tristan, updating the Max cPanel Process Memory from 256 (default) to 512 did the trick. We can change user names again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page